NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Monday, April 10, 2000 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of minutes of September 27, 1999, meeting

COURT UNIFICATION AND CLERK OF DISTRICT COURT STUDY

9:10 a.m. Presentation by Chief Justice Gerald W. VandeWalle, Supreme Court, regarding clerk of district court legislation implementation

Comments by interested persons

9:30 a.m. Presentation by Judge Ralph R. Erickson, East Central Judicial District, regarding

judicial salaries

Comments by interested persons

10:15 a.m. Coffee break

10:30 a.m. Presentation by Associate Justice Mary Muehlen Maring, Supreme Court, regarding

the implementation of juvenile drug courts

Comments by interested persons

FAMILY LAW STUDY

11:00 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Sandi Tabor, Executive Director, State Bar Association, and by

members of the committee regarding the status of the family law study working

groups

Comments by interested persons

UNIFORM LAWS

11:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Jay E. Buringrud, Secretary, North Dakota Commission on Uniform State Laws, regarding the recommendations of the commission for the

enactment of the following uniform laws:

Uniform Commercial Code Revised Article 9 - Secured Transactions (1998)

• Uniform Disclaimer of Property Interests Act (1999)

Uniform Foreign Money Judgments Recognition Act

Uniform Electronic Transactions Act

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Comments by Mr. Curtis L. Wolfe, Information Technology Department, regarding

the Uniform Electronic Transactions Act

Comments by interested persons regarding the recommended uniform acts

VOTER REGISTRATION AND RESIDENCY STUDY

1:30 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Monica Larivee, Grand Forks, regarding voter registration

Presentations by other interested persons regarding voter registration

Presentation by a representative of the Secretary of State's office regarding voter

registration and residency requirements

Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft regarding the requesting of

identification by poll challengers and election board members

Comments by interested persons

3:00 p.m. Committee discussion

3:30 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Wayne Stenehjem (Chairman), Dennis Bercier, Joel C. Heitkamp, Judy Lee, Stanley W. Lyson, Carolyn Nelson, John T. Traynor, Darlene Watne

Representatives Duane DeKrey, Lois Delmore, G. Jane Gunter, Kathy Hawken, Dennis E. Johnson, Scot Kelsh, Lawrence R. Klemin, Amy N. Kliniske, Kim Koppelman, John Mahoney, Shirley Meyer, Phillip Mueller