MEETING NOTICE

Senator Aaron Krauter, Chairman, has called a meeting of the BUDGET COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENT SERVICES.

Date: Monday and Tuesday, October 25-26, 1999

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Place: Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck

Agenda: Presentations by representatives of the Office of Management and Budget on the status of the general fund, by representatives of the Facility Management Division on state agency office space leases, by representatives of the Information Technology Department on options that technology provides for locating employees away from a central office setting, by representatives of the Department of Public Instruction on vacant school buildings that may be available for providing office space for state agencies, by representatives of the Department of Transportation on how other states administer their driver's license and motor vehicle registration programs, by representatives of the North Dakota Association of Counties on suggestions for efficiencies that may result from providing state government services at county courthouses utilizing county staff, by representatives of the State Department of Health regarding its facilities plan and on options for privatizing its laboratory facilities, by representatives of the North Dakota Public Employees Association on privatization, by representatives of the Industrial Commission regarding the history of the authority of the Governor to veto action of other members of the Industrial Commission, and by representatives of the Bank of North Dakota regarding its functions and the role of its advisory board; a tour of State Department of Health facilities; and other presentations including presentations by the Legislative Council staff of state agency office space utilization and on services privatized by state agencies

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Senators Aaron Krauter, John Andrist, Bill L. Bowman, Ed Kringstad, Kenneth Kroeplin, Elroy N. Lindaas, John T. Traynor; Representatives April Fairfield, Pat Galvin, Bette Grande, Robert Huether, Roxanne Jensen, James Kerzman, Matthew M. Klein, Myron Koppang, Chet Pollert, Wanda Rose, Ben Tollefson, Janet Wentz, Lonny B. Winrich

Staff Contacts: Chester E. Nelson, Jr., Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Allen H. Knudson, Senior Fiscal Analyst

Any member who is unable to attend this meeting is asked to please notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

John D. Olsrud Director

JDO/LMM