NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

GARRISON DIVERSION OVERVIEW COMMITTEE

Thursday, December 11, 1997 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes of the October 23, 1997, meeting
9:05 a.m.	GARRISON DIVERSION UNIT PROJECT Presentation by Mr. David Sprynczynatyk, State Engineer, and Secretary, State Water Commission, concerning Garrison Diversion Unit Project negotiations
9:25 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Richard Nelson, Chief, Resource Management Division, Dakota's Area Office, Bureau of Reclamation, concerning the amount of Garrison Diversion Unit Project funds spent on mitigation and wildlife enhancement projects as well as the number of acres acquired as mitigation for the project
9:45 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum concerning the North Dakota Wetlands Trust
9:50 a.m.	Comments by Mr. Warren Jamison, Manager, Garrison Diversion Conservancy District, Carrington, concerning the Dakota Water Resources Act of 1997
10:00 a.m.	Coffee break
10:15 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum relating to the recent Missouri lawsuit against the United States Army Corps of Engineers, Missouri v. Craig
10:25 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Sprynczynatyk of an update on Devils Lake flooding
10:45 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Sprynczynatyk concerning the priority of Southwest Water Authority and Southwest Pipeline Projects under the Garrison municipal, rural, and industrial water supply program
	WATERSHED DISTRICTS STUDY
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Sprynczynatyk concerning upstream drainage causing problems downstream and maps of the state's hydrologic and watershed boundaries
11:35 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum relating to the authority of water resource districts to address drainage problems and a memorandum on the Nebraska natural resource district system
11:55 a.m.	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Comments by other interested persons in attendance
2:00 p.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
2:15 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Pam Gulleson (Chairman), Merle Boucher, John Dorso, Tom D. Freier, Eugene Nicholas, Alice Olson, Mike Timm

Senators Aaron Krauter, Tim Mathern, Gary J. Nelson, David E. Nething, John T. Traynor, Terry M. Wanzek