NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

GARRISON DIVERSION OVERVIEW COMMITTEE

Thursday, October 23, 1997 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

| 9:00 a.m. | Call to order Roll call |
|------------|--|
| 9:05 a.m. | GARRISON DIVERSION UNIT PROJECT Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the statutory duties of the Garrison Diversion Overview Committee and review of the Garrison Diversion Unit Project |
| 9:15 a.m. | Presentation by Mr. Warren Jamison, Manager, Garrison Diversion Conservancy District, Carrington, concerning the status of the Garrison Diversion Unit Project and proposed amendments to the Garrison Diversion Unit Reformulation Act of 1986 |
| 9:45 a.m. | Presentation by Mr. David Sprynczynatyk, State Engineer, concerning the Garrison municipal, rural, and industrial water supply program; Southwest Pipeline Project; and Northwest Area Water Supply Project |
| 10:15 a.m. | Coffee break |
| 10:30 a.m. | Presentation by Mr. Rick Nelson, Chief of Resource Management, Dakota's Area Office, Bureau of Reclamation, concerning Garrison Diversion Unit Project activity and the Garrison Diversion Unit fiscal year 1998 appropriation |
| 10:50 a.m. | Presentation by Mr. Bill Bicknell, Wildlife Biologist, United States Fish and Wildlife Service, concerning the status of mitigation and enhancement on the Garrison Diversion Unit Project |
| 11:10 a.m. | Presentation by Ms. Pinkie Evans-Curry, Manager, Southwest Water Authority, Dickinson, concerning service area development and grant funding for the Southwest Water Authority |
| | WATERSHED DISTRICTS STUDY |
| 11:50 a.m. | Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the study of the establishment of watershed districts to manage water based on watershed boundaries |
| 12:00 noon | Luncheon recess |
| 1:00 p.m. | Presentation by Mr. Mike Dwyer, Executive Secretary, North Dakota Water Resource Districts Association, of an overview of the water management structure in North Dakota |
| 1:30 p.m. | Comments by Mr. Sprynczynatyk concerning the study |
| 2:00 p.m. | Comments by other interested persons in attendance |
| 2:30 p.m. | Committee discussion and staff directives |
| 2:45 p.m. | Adjourn |

Committee Members

Representatives Pam Gulleson (Chairman), Merle Boucher, John Dorso, Tom D. Freier, Eugene Nicholas, Alice Olson, Mike Timm

Senators Aaron Krauter, Tim Mathern, Gary J. Nelson, David E. Nething, John T. Traynor, Terry M. Wanzek