NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

ELECTRIC UTILITIES COMMITTEE

Tuesday, July 29, 1997 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Review of Legislative Council rules of operation and procedure
9:05 a.m.	Comments by Representative Al Carlson, Chairman, concerning the study of the impact of competition on the generation, transmission, and distribution of electric energy within this state
9:15 a.m.	Comments by Representative John Dorso, primary sponsor of 1997 House Bill No. 1237, which established the Electric Utilities Committee, concerning the study
9:30 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum concerning the study
9:45 a.m.	Comments by Mr. Chuck Johnson, Commerce Counsel, Public Service Commission, concerning Case No. PU-439-96-54, relating to changes occurring in the electric industry, and activities of the commission relating to restructuring the electric industry prior to enactment of 1997 House Bill No. 1237
10:00 a.m.	Coffee break
10:10 a.m.	Comments by Mr. Ron Tipton, President, Montana-Dakota Utilities Company, Bismarck, concerning the study
10:50 a.m.	Comments by Mr. John MacFarlane, President, Chief Executive Officer, and Chairman of the Board, Otter Tail Power Company, Fergus Falls, Minnesota, concerning the study
11:00 a.m.	Comments by Mr. Kenneth J. Zagzebski, General Manager and Chief Executive Officer, Northern States Power Company, Fargo, concerning the study
11:20 a.m.	Comments by Mr. Dennis Hill, Executive Vice President and General Manager, North Dakota Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives, Mandan, concerning the study
11:40 a.m.	Comments by a representative of Rainbow Energy Marketing Corporation, Bismarck, concerning the study

12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Comments by other interested persons in attendance concerning the study
2:15 p.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
2:30 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Al Carlson, (Chairman), Robert Huether, Matthew M. Klein Senators Randel Christmann, Pete Naaden, Larry J. Robinson