NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

CRIMINAL JUSTICE COMMITTEE

Tuesday, July 8, 1997 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Review of Legislative Council rules of operation and procedure
- 9:05 a.m. Comments by the committee chairman on duties and responsibilities assigned to the committee
- 9:10 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on sexual offenses and sentencing
- 9:30 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum on the involuntary civil commitment of sexual offenders
- 9:40 a.m. Comments by committee members and interested persons
- 9:55 a.m. Coffee break
- 10:10 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on child sexual abuse
- 10:25 a.m. Comments by committee members and interested persons
- 10:40 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Department of Human Services on child sexual abuse
- 11:45 a.m. Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the prevention of and the dispositional alternatives to delinquency and crime
- 1:25 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Deborah Painte, Executive Director, Indian Affairs Commission, on programs and trends on the reservations
- 1:40 p.m. Comments by committee members and interested persons

- 1:50 p.m. Presentation by representatives from the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation on the status of the delinquency prevention consortium and on the status of and the trends in the populations at the State Penitentiary and Youth Correctional Center
- 2:50 p.m. Comments by committee members and interested persons
- 3:00 p.m. Committee discussion
- 3:15 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Merle Boucher (Chairman), Duane L. DeKrey, G. Jane Gunter, Kathy Hawken, Dale L. Henegar, Kim Koppelman, Paul Murphy, Bill Oban, Sally Sandvig, Al Soukup, Laurel Thoreson, John M. Warner Senators James A. Berg, Les J. LaFountain, Marv Mutzenberger, Donna L. Nalewaja, Wayne Stenehjem, Steven W. Tomac, Darlene Watne