

Tentative Agenda

25.5114.02000

Revised 4/5/2024

ENERGY DEVELOPMENT AND TRANSMISSION COMMITTEE

Wednesday, April 10, 2024 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

8:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the December 18, 2023, meeting

8:05 a.m. Presentation by Governor Doug Burgum, Mr. David Glatt, Director, Department of

Environment Quality, and Mr. Lynn Helms, Director, Department of Mineral Resources,

regarding an update on proposed federal regulations

9:05 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Helms, regarding carbon sequestration and the potential use of

carbon dioxide in North Dakota.

9:55 a.m. Presentation by a representative of ALLETE, Inc., regarding an update on energy

transmission in North Dakota

10:25 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Pam Gorman Prochaska, General Manager, Nuclear Fleet

Operations, Xcel Energy, regarding advanced nuclear energy

11:10 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Rich Garman, Director, Economic Development and Finance,

Department of Commerce, regarding nuclear energy in North Dakota

11:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Ladd Erickson, McLean County State's Attorney, regarding a

carbon dioxide policy for North Dakota

12:00 noon Recess

1:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding

electric vehicles and an overview of nuclear regulations

1:05 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Stephanie Weir, National Technical Director for Nuclear Waste

Consent Based Siting, Battelle Energy Alliance LLC, regarding feasibility of advanced

nuclear energy

2:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Josh Fisher, Senior Director, State Affairs, Alliance for Automotive

Innovation, regarding the assessment of fees to offset reductions in motor fuel tax

revenues

2:30 p.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion

2:45 p.m. Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.ndlegis.gov.

Committee Members

Senators: David Hogue (Chairman), Brad Bekkedahl, Keith Boehm, Ryan Braunberger, Dale Patten,

Merrill Piepkorn

Representatives: Dick Anderson, Mike Brandenburg, Alisa Mitskog, Corey Mock, Todd Porter, Don

Vigesaa

Staff Contact: Austin Gunderson, Counsel