

Tentative Agenda

25.5094.02000

HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Wednesday, February 28, 2024

Rooms 185 and 187, Tech Center, North Dakota State College of Science, Wahpeton, North Dakota Thursday, February 29, 2024

Prairie Rose Room, Memorial Union, North Dakota State University, Fargo, North Dakota

Wednesday, February 28, 2024, Rooms 185 and 187, Tech Center, North Dakota State College of Science, Wahpeton

| 10:00 a.m. | Call to order |
|------------|---------------|
| | |

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the October 10-11, 2023, meeting

- 10:05 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota State College of Science of an overview of the institution
- 11:00 a.m. Tour of the North Dakota State College of Science
- 12:15 p.m. Recess
- 1:15 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education regarding higher education trends and practices in other states, including recruitment, retention, remedial education, dual credit, and return on investment
- 2:15 p.m. Presentation by representatives of the North Dakota University System regarding dual credit in the state, including enrollment, costs, funding, and educator standards
- 3:00 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the University System regarding remedial education in the state
- 3:15 p.m. Recess

Thursday, February 29, 2024, Prairie Rose Room, Memorial Union, North Dakota State University, Fargo

- 8:30 a.m. Presentation by a representative of North Dakota State University of an overview of the institution
- 9:30 a.m. Presentation by representatives of North Dakota State University regarding research conducted at the institution
- 10:15 a.m. Break
- 10:25 a.m. Tour of North Dakota State University
- 11:40 a.m. Report by a representative of the University System on State Board of Higher Education policies regarding communications between board members and board member access to current and historic board information pursuant to North Dakota Century Code Section 15-10-66
- 11:45 a.m. Comments by interested persons regarding the committee's assigned studies and duties
- 11:50 a.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 12:00 noon Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: <u>https://video.ndlegis.gov</u>.

Committee Members

- Representatives: Mark Sanford (Chairman), Landon Bahl, Claire Cory, Jay Fisher, Karla Rose Hanson, Matt Heilman, Dennis Johnson, Bob Martinson, Mike Nathe, David Richter, Mike Schatz, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck, Steve Swiontek
- Senators: Sean Cleary, Robert Erbele, Karen K. Krebsbach, Curt Kreun, Jonathan Sickler, Ronald Sorvaag

Staff Contact: Alex J. Cronquist, Senior Fiscal Analyst