North Dakota Legislative Management

Tentative Agenda

25.5051.02000



Revised 10/31/2023

HEALTH CARE COMMITTEE

Wednesday, November 1, 2023 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the <u>minutes of the August 30, 2023, meeting</u>

PRIOR AUTHORIZATION STUDY

- 9:05 a.m. Presentation by Legislative Council staff of a <u>memorandum</u> relating to the health insurance prior authorization study
- 9:10 a.m. Presentation by <u>Ms. Melanie Wilson</u>, Senior Vice President, Revenue Services, Essentia Health, and <u>Ms. Emily Carroll</u>, Senior Attorney, American Medical Association, regarding prior authorization in health benefit plans
- 9:45 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Tim Blasl, President, North Dakota Hospital Association, and members of the North Dakota Hospital Association, regarding prior authorization
- 10:30 a.m. Break
- 10:45 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Dylan Wheeler, Head of Government Affairs, Sanford Health Plan, regarding prior authorization in health benefit plans
- 11:00 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Megan Houn, Vice President, Government Affairs and Public Policy, Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota, regarding prior authorization in health benefit plans
- 11:15 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Marnie Walth, Head of Legislative Affairs, Sanford Health Plan, on hospital finance
- 11:40 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 12:00 noon Recess

VALUE-BASED CARE STUDY

- 1:00 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by a representative from Essentia Health regarding value-based care in rural areas
- 1:25 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Blasl, members of the North Dakota Hospital Association, and Ms. Walth, regarding value-based care
- 2:15 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Sarah Aker, Executive Director, Medical Services Division, Department of Health and Human Services, regarding value-based care strategies and programs in other states
- 2:45 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 3:05 p.m. Committee discussion and directives
- 3:15 p.m. Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: <u>https://video.ndlegis.gov</u>.

Committee Members

Senators: Kyle Davison (Chairman), Sean Cleary, Tim Mathern, Kristin Roers Representatives: Gretchen Dobervich, Clayton Fegley, LaurieBeth Hager, Dawson Holle, Carrie McLeod, Jon O. Nelson, Emily O'Brien, Karen M. Rohr, Mary Schneider, Greg Stemen, Michelle Strinden, Robin Weisz

Staff Contact: Samantha E. Kramer, Senior Counsel and Assistant Code Revisor