

# **Tentative Agenda**

25.5050.02000

## **ENERGY DEVELOPMENT AND TRANSMISSION COMMITTEE**

Tuesday, October 24, 2023 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.

Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the August 7, 2023, meeting

## NATURAL GAS ACCESSIBILITY IN SMALL COMMUNITIES STUDY

9:05 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding

natural gas accessibility in small communities

9:10 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Justin Kringstad, Executive Director, North Dakota Pipeline

Authority, regarding natural gas accessibility and transmission needs in the state

9:55 a.m. Comments from representatives of impacted communities in North Dakota, including

comments from Mr. Jay Standish, Mayor, New Town, and a representative from

Parshall

10:25 a.m. Break

10:40 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Larry Oswald, Director, Business Development & Energy Services.

Montana-Dakota Utilities, regarding an overview of natural gas service in the state and

costs and other barriers to delivering natural gas to communities

10:55 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Rachel Iverson Schafer, RD, CSSD, Director of Program

Administration, Department of Health and Human Services, relating to the Low Income

Home Energy Assistance Program

11:20 a.m. Comments by interested persons

11:45 a.m. Committee discussion

12:00 p.m. Recess

#### SUSTAINABLE ENERGY POLICIES STUDY

\*\*The North Dakota Public Service Commission will join the committee for the afternoon\*\*

1:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Claire Vigessa, Executive Director, North Dakota Transmission

Authority, regarding transmission infrastructure

1:15 p.m. Introduction of Mr. Jeff Merrifield, Former Commissioner, United States Nuclear

Regulatory Commission, by a representative of the Public Service Commission

1:30 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Merrifield, regarding advanced nuclear energy

2:30 p.m. Committee discussion

3:15 p.m. Adjourn

# A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: <a href="https://video.ndlegis.gov">https://video.ndlegis.gov</a>.

# **Committee Members**

Senators: David Hogue (Chairman), Brad Bekkedahl, Keith Boehm, Ryan Braunberger, Dale Patten,

Merrill Piepkorn

Representatives: Dick Anderson, Mike Brandenburg, Alisa Mitskog, Corey Mock, Todd Porter, Don

Vigesaa

Staff Contact: Samantha E. Kramer, Senior Counsel and Assistant Code Revisor

