North Dakota Legislative Management

## **Tentative Agenda**

25.5031.02000

Revised 7/26/2023

## ENERGY DEVELOPMENT AND TRANSMISSION COMMITTEE

Monday, August 7, 2023 Red River Assembly Room Coal Creek Station, 2875 Third Street SW Underwood, North Dakota

- 9:30 a.m. Call to order Roll call Review of <u>Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota</u> <u>Legislative Management</u>
- 9:35 a.m. Comments by the Chairman
- 9:40 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> regarding a comprehensive review of the committee's duties
- 9:45 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Stacy Tschider, President, Rainbow Energy Center, relating to Rainbow Energy Center's vision of the future of Coal Creek Station and the successful operation of a coal plant in a low carbon world
- 10:30 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Claire Vigesaa, Deputy Director, North Dakota Transmission Authority, regarding studies on the impact of the Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA's) regulations on the resource adequacy of the Midcontinent Independent System Operator and Southwest Power Pool grids
- 11:00 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Brian Tulloh, Executive Director, External Affairs, Midcontinent Independent System Operator, regarding the impact the EPA and other pressures have on generation resources
- 12:00 noon Recess
- 1:00 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Natasha Henderson, Director of System Planning, Southwest Power Pool, regarding the impact the EPA and other pressures have on generation resources
- 2:00 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 2:15 p.m. Committee discussion
- 2:30 p.m. Adjourn\*

\*Upon the adjournment of the meeting, the committee, press, and members of the public may participate in a tour of Coal Creek Station.

## A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: <u>https://video.ndlegis.gov</u>.

## **Committee Members**

Senators: David Hogue (Chairman), Brad Bekkedahl, Keith Boehm, Ryan Braunberger, Dale Patten, Merrill Piepkorn

Representatives: Dick Anderson, Mike Brandenburg, Alisa Mitskog, Corey Mock, Todd Porter, Don Vigesaa

Staff Contact: Samantha E. Kramer, Senior Counsel and Assistant Code Revisor