Sixty-seventh Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

## **HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 3027**

Introduced by

18

since 2010;

Representatives Porter, Damschen, Pollert, Zubke

Senators Bekkedahl, Patten, Bell, Wardner

- 1 A concurrent resolution urging President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. to continue oil development on 2 federal land and on federal minerals. 3 WHEREAS, the federal government leases land to mining companies for the hydraulic 4 fracturing of natural gas on public land; and 5 WHEREAS, energy security is the primary reason for fossil fuel exploration on a nation's 6 own land; and 7 **WHEREAS**, when a nation pumps oil in its own vicinity, the costs of shipping, production, 8 and labor are reduced considerably; and 9 WHEREAS, local energy production adds jobs to the economy, often in rural places that are 10 economically depressed and need the financial assistance; and 11 WHEREAS, in 2018, cities, counties, and states enjoyed more than a \$4 billion surplus from 12 mining activities, and schools and infrastructure improvements in rural and economically 13 depressed areas benefited greatly from that surplus; and 14 WHEREAS, nearly all Americans, not just energy companies and their immediate suppliers, 15 are reaping the benefits of increasing energy production; and 16 WHEREAS, oil and natural gas development has occurred safely on federal land for 17 decades, while bureaucratic red tape has caused production of these resources to fall sharply
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN:
- That the Sixty-seventh Legislative Assembly urges President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. to continue oil development on federal land and on federal minerals; and
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this resolution to the President of the United States, the Majority and Minority Leaders of the United States

Sixty-seventh Legislative Assembly

- 1 Senate and the United States House of Representatives, and each member of the North Dakota
- 2 Congressional Delegation.