NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Monday and Tuesday, August 20-21, 2018 Skoal Room, Memorial Student Center, Valley City State University Valley City, North Dakota

Monday, August 20, 2018

1:00 p.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the June 4-5, 2018, meeting
1:05 p.m.	Presentation by Dr. Margaret Dahlberg, Interim President, Valley City State University, of:
	An overview of the institution
	 An overview of the institution's strategic plan
	 A targeted tour or interactive session regarding the institution
2:35 p.m.	Break
2:50 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Michelle Kommer, Executive Director, Job Service North Dakota, regarding workforce issues in North Dakota, including critical workforce needs, occupational licensing issues, and recommendations
3:30 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Rick Tonder, Director of Facilities Planning, North Dakota University System, regarding campus space utilization
4:00 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the University System regarding:
	Envision 2030
	• The status of inconsistencies in employee classifications and human resources reporting, employee leave policies, practices for awarding tuition waivers, and practices regarding the charging of student fees
	 The Lumina Attainment grant received by the University System
4:30 p.m.	Recess
Tuesday, Augus 8:30 a.m.	st 21, 2018 Presentation by Dr. Thomas Mitzel, President, Dickinson State University, of:
	An overview of the institution
	 An overview of the institution's strategic plan
	 An update regarding the Theodore Roosevelt Presidential Library

- 9:30 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences Advisory Council of a report pursuant to North Dakota Century Code Section 15-52-04 regarding the strategic plan, programs, and facilities of the School of Medicine and Health Sciences
- 10:30 a.m. Break
- 10:40 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the University System of:
 - A report pursuant to Section 15-70-05 regarding tribal college grants
 - An update regarding the higher education challenge grant program

- A report pursuant to Section 20 of 2017 Senate Bill No. 2003 regarding the transfer of appropriation authority from the operation to the capital assets line items within subdivisions 2 through 14 of Section 1 of Senate Bill No. 2003
- 11:10 a.m. Committee work, including discussion of potential recommendations
- 11:30 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 11:45 a.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 12:00 noon Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives: Mark Sanford (Chairman), Thomas Beadle, Rich S. Becker, Lois Delmore, Richard G. Holman, Dennis Johnson, Andrew G. Maragos, Bob Martinson, Lisa Meier, Gary Paur, Mike Schatz

Senators: Robert Erbele, David Hogue, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Carolyn C. Nelson, Larry J. Robinson, Jim P. Roers

Staff Contact: Alex J. Cronquist, Senior Fiscal Analyst