## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

## **Tentative Agenda**

## **ECONOMIC IMPACT COMMITTEE**

Wednesday, September 14, 2016 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the May 26, 2016, meeting
10:10 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Terry Traynor, Secretary, Emergency Services Communications Coordinating Committee, regarding the use of the assessed communications services fee revenue, and recommended changes to the operating standards for emergency services communications
10:45 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft [17.0215.01000] relating to the recommended changes to the operating standards for emergency services communications
10:50 a.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
11:10 a.m.	Break
11:30 a.m.	Presentation by Dr. Mark Hagerott, Chancellor, North Dakota University System, regarding cybersecurity and the benefit of a data center industry on the University System
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Lieutenant Governor Drew Wrigley, regarding the cybersecurity task force findings relating to high-performance computing and data gathering, storage, and analysis
1:30 p.m.	Committee discussion
1:50 p.m.	Break
2:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Robert Becklund, Executive Director, Northern Plains Unmanned Aircraft Systems Test Site, regarding the unmanned aircraft test site
2:30 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Jeff Layton, Amazon Web Services, regarding the role of high-performance computing in education, support of energy research, aerospace, and economic development
3:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Tom Swoyer, President, Grand Sky Development Company, relating to the study of a civilian ground center
3:20 p.m.	Committee discussion
3:30 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft [17.0238.01000] relating to the frequency of the Department of Commerce status report of the unmanned aircraft systems program
3:35 p.m.	Comments by interested persons regarding the bill draft and the study of issues regarding development of a civilian ground center, unmanned aerial systems, and cybersecurity
3:40 p.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
4:00 p.m.	Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Senators: Connie Triplett (Chairman), Randall A. Burckhard, Tom Campbell, Jonathan Casper, Lonnie J. Laffen, Mac Schneider, Terry M. Wanzek

Representatives: Thomas Beadle, Rich S. Becker, Joshua A. Boschee, Ron Guggisberg, Matthew M. Klein, Ben Koppelman, Cynthia Schreiber Beck, Gary R. Sukut

Staff Contact: Christopher S. Joseph, Counsel