NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Tuesday, March 22, 2016 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the January 5, 2016, meeting
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by Legislative Council staff of a memorandum regarding the statutes affected by the definition of marriage
9:20 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Glenn Jackson, Director, Driver's License Division, Department of Transportation, regarding the federal REAL ID Act of 2005/verification of citizenship
9:35 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
9:45 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives
9:55 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Devra Smestad, Auditor/Treasurer, Ward County, regarding voter registration in Ward County
10:10 a.m.	Break
10:30 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Judd Choate, Director of Elections, State of Colorado, regarding election procedure in Colorado
10:45 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Gary Poser, Elections Director, State of Minnesota, regarding election procedure in Minnesota
10:55 a.m.	Committee discussion
11:15 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Gunner laCour, Director, North Dakota Racing Commission, of the biennial report of the Racing Commission
11:35 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Randy Miller, Director, North Dakota Lottery, of a report regarding the operation of the lottery
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Dr. Rosalie Etherington, Superintendent/Administrator, State Hospital, of a biennial report relating to the services provided at the State Hospital to individuals who have been committed to the care and custody of the Executive Director of the Department of Human Services
1:20 p.m.	Comments by interested persons
1:30 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives
1:35 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators: David Hogue (Chairman), Kelly M. Armstrong, John Grabinger, Carolyn C. Nelson, Erin Oban, Mac Schneider

Representatives: Pamela Anderson, Roger Brabandt, Lois Delmore, Kathy Hawken, Richard G. Holman, Mary C. Johnson, Karen Karls, Lawrence R. Klemin, Kim Koppelman, William E. Kretschmar, Diane Larson, Andrew G. Maragos, Christopher D. Olson, Gary Paur, Mary Schneider

Staff Contact: Samantha E. Kramer, Counsel