NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Thursday, February 18, 2016 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

8:30 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the November 24, 2015, meeting
8:40 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a technical corrections bill draft regarding North Dakota United
8:55 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Daniel Gugala, Vice President and General Counsel, Crisis Prevention Institute, regarding nationwide trends relating to restraint and seclusion policies
9:40 a.m.	Committee discussion on restraint and seclusion
9:45 a.m.	Break
9:55 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Anthony Alpert, Executive Director, Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium, regarding assessment models, testing protocols, and the assessment development process of the Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium
10:40 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Darice Keating, President, ACT Aspire; Mr. Scott Montgomery, Vice President, Policy, Advocacy, and Government Relations, ACT Aspire; and Ms. Donna Matovinovic, Vice President, Testing Development, ACT Aspire, regarding assessment models, testing protocols, and the assessment development process of ACT Aspire
11:25 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Kirsten Baesler, Superintendent of Public Instruction, regarding future assessment options for North Dakota
11:35 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives regarding the study of content standards and assessments
11:45 a.m.	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Reconvene at Legacy High School campus, 3400 East Calgary Avenue
	Tour and presentations under the direction of Mr. Tom Schmidt, Principal, Legacy High School
2:50 p.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
3:00 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators: Donald Schaible (Chairman), Howard C. Anderson, Jr., Kyle R. Davison, Robert Erbele, Tim Flakoll, Joan Heckaman, Richard Marcellais, Erin Oban, Nicole Poolman, David S. Rust

Representatives: Richard G. Holman, Bob Hunskor, Mary C. Johnson, Jerry Kelsh, Alex Looysen, Lisa

Meier, David Monson, Mike Nathe, Karen M. Rohr, Mark Sanford, Cynthia Schreiber

Beck, Kris Wallman, Denton Zubke

Staff Contact: Dustin Assel, Counsel

John Walstad, Legal Division Director