NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Thursday, September 17, 2015 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Comments by the Chairman
- 9:05 a.m. Review of the Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota Legislative Management
- 9:10 a.m. Presentation by Representative Klemin, North Dakota Commission on Uniform State Laws, regarding the recommendations of the commission for the 2017 legislative session
- 9:25 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the registration requirements for offenders against children and sex offenders under North Dakota Century Code Section 12.1-32-15
- 9:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Jon Byers, Assistant Attorney General, regarding 2015 House Concurrent Resolution No. 3012
- 9:55 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Cass County State's Attorney's office regarding issues related to current registration requirements for offenders against children and sex offenders under Section 12.1-32-15
- 10:05 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Jack McDonald, Past President, State Bar Association of North Dakota
- 10:35 a.m. Break
- 10:50 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota State's Attorneys' Association regarding issues related to current registration requirements for offenders against children and sex offenders under Section 12.1-32-15
- 11:10 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Justin Vinje, Past President, North Dakota Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, regarding issues related to current registration requirements for offenders against children and sex offenders under Section 12.1-32-15
- 11:30 a.m. Committee discussion
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding voter registration and verification of citizenship status for voting and obtaining driver's licenses and nondriver identification
- 1:10 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Jim Silrum, Deputy Secretary of State, on voter registration and verification of citizenship status for voting
- 1:30 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Glenn Jackson, Director, Driver's License Division, Department of Transportation, on verification of citizenship status for obtaining driver's licenses and nondriver identification cards
- 1:50 p.m. Committee discussion
- 2:15 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators: David Hogue (Chairman), Kelly M. Armstrong, John Grabinger, Carolyn C. Nelson, Erin Oban, Mac Schneider

Representatives: Pamela Anderson, Roger Brabandt, Lois Delmore, Kathy Hawken, Richard G. Holman, Mary C. Johnson, Karen Karls, Lawrence R. Klemin, Kim Koppelman, William E. Kretschmar, Diane Larson, Andrew G. Maragos, Christopher D. Olson, Gary Paur, Mary Schneider

Staff Contact: Samantha E. Kramer, Counsel