NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

EDUCATION FUNDING COMMITTEE

Friday, August 1, 2014
Harvest Room, State Capitol
Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the June 2-3, 2014, meetings

9:05 a.m. Presentation by Dr. Aimee Copas, Executive Director, North Dakota Council of

Educational Leaders, regarding the potential impact of recommendations in the report entitled Recalibrating North Dakota's Per Student Number for the School Foundation

Program

10:05 a.m. Break

10:20 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Jerry Coleman, Director of School Finance, Department of Public

Instruction, regarding the financial condition of school districts

10:40 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Department of Public Instruction regarding

school district employee compensation

11:00 a.m. Presentation by representatives of the Department of Public Instruction regarding:

· School and school district requests for waivers of accreditation rules

· Proposed adoption of new accreditation rules

Student assessment results

School and school district requests for waivers of statutory requirements governing

instructional time

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Kirsten Baesler, Superintendent of Public Instruction, regarding the

development, delivery, and administration of comprehensive early childhood care and

early childhood education

2:00 p.m. Break

2:15 p.m. Public comments

Committee discussion

Staff directives

3:00 p.m. Adjournment

Committee Members

Senators: Tim Flakoll (Chairman), Howard C. Anderson Jr., Joan Heckaman, Richard Marcellais, Nicole Poolman, Donald Schaible

Representatives: Mark A. Dosch, Jessica Haak, Patrick Hatlestad, Bob Hunskor, Jerry Kelsh, Ben

Koppelman, Lisa Meier, David Monson, Mike Nathe, Karen M. Rohr, David S. Rust,

Mark Sanford

Staff Contact: L. Anita Thomas, Counsel