Adjourn

2:45 p.m.

## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

**Tentative Agenda** 

## **HIGHER EDUCATION FUNDING COMMITTEE**

Tuesday, April 22, 2014 Conference Center, Student Center, Minot State University Minot. North Dakota

Minot, North Dakota	
8:30 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the February 20, 2014, meeting Comments by the Chairman
8:35 a.m.	Welcome and comments by Dr. David Fuller, President, Minot State University
8:50 a.m.	HIGHER EDUCATION STUDY  Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota University System regarding open education, including an overview of:
	State authorization reciprocity agreements
	Open textbooks
	Massive online open courses
9:50 a.m.	Presentation by representatives of the University System and Western Interstate Commission on Higher Education (WICHE) Cooperative for Educational Technologies regarding predictive analytics reporting
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by representatives of the University System regarding intellectual property, including:
	<ul> <li>An overview of State Board of Higher Education policies relating to intellectual property and any proposed changes to the policies</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Historical revenues relating to institution research and commercialization activities</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Future plans for research in the state, including how to improve the sustainability of research activities</li> </ul>
1:30 p.m.	Comments by interested persons regarding the committee's studies of higher education issues
OTHER COMMITTEE DUTIES	
1:35 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the State Board of Higher Education of a report, pursuant to Section 15 of 2013 House Bill No. 1103, providing the status of implementing North Dakota Century Code Chapter 15-18.1 relating to the authorization to operate postsecondary institutions in the state
OTHER BUSINESS	
1:55 p.m.	Comments by a representative of the University System of an update on system issues
2:10 p.m.	Committee work, including discussion of potential areas for committee action and reports by committee members
2:35 p.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives

## **Committee Members**

Representatives: Mark Sanford (Chairman), Thomas Beadle, Lois Delmore, Mark A. Dosch, Eliot Glassheim, Kathy Hawken, Joe Heilman, Dennis Johnson, Andrew G. Maragos, Bob Martinson, Kylie Oversen, Robert J. Skarphol, Clark Williams

Senators: Tim Flakoll, Tony Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Carolyn C. Nelson, Larry J. Robinson

Staff Contact: Brady A. Larson, Assistant Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor