### NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

**Tentative Agenda** 

# WATER-RELATED TOPICS OVERVIEW COMMITTEE

Tuesday, October 9, 2012 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the July 16-17, 2012, meeting

#### NORTH DAKOTA WATER COALITION

- 9:05 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Jean Schafer, Executive Director, North Dakota Water Coalition, concerning development of funding priorities by the funding priorities subcommittee of the coalition
- 9:30 a.m. Committee discussion and comments by interested persons in attendance concerning the coalition report

#### STATEWIDE WATER DEVELOPMENT GOALS

- 9:45 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to statewide water development goals
- 9:50 a.m. Committee discussion and comments by interested persons in attendance concerning the bill draft and statewide water development goals
- 10:15 a.m. Break
- 10:30 a.m. Continued committee discussion concerning the bill draft and statewide water development goals

#### **RESOURCES TRUST FUND**

- 10:45 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to allocation of funds from the resources trust fund by the State Water Commission
- 10:50 a.m. Committee discussion and comments by interested persons in attendance concerning the bill draft

#### IRRIGATION

- 11:30 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to the Water-Related Topics Overview Committee, irrigation districts, and irrigation project financing
- 11:35 a.m. Comments by Mr. Michael Dwyer, Executive Director, North Dakota Irrigation Association, concerning the bill draft and irrigation issues
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Continued committee discussion and comments by interested persons in attendance concerning the bill draft and irrigation

#### SOUTHWEST WATER AUTHORITY

- 1:30 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Mary Massad, Manager/CEO, Southwest Water Authority, Dickinson, concerning the Southwest Pipeline Project
- 2:00 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 2:15 p.m. Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Representatives Curt Hofstad (Chairman), Chuck Damschen, Bill Devlin, Lee Kaldor, Curtiss Kreun, Jon Nelson, Kenton Onstad, Jim Schmidt

Senators Randy Burckhard, Tony Grindberg, Larry Luick, George L. Nodland, Connie Triplett

Staff Contact: Jeffrey N. Nelson, Counsel