NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

WATER-RELATED TOPICS OVERVIEW COMMITTEE

Monday, July 16, 2012
Viking Room, Grand International Inn, 1505 North Broadway
Minot, North Dakota
Tuesday, July 17, 2012
Williston State College, 1410 University Avenue
Williston, North Dakota

Monday, July 16, 2012

9:00 a.m.	The committee will convene at the front entrance, Grand International Inn, Minot, to tour Minot flood damage and flood mitigation infrastructure development
40.00	Longham

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Call to order Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the April 19, 2012, meeting

MINOT FLOOD DAMAGE AND FLOOD MITIGATION INFRASTRUCTURE DEVELOPMENT

1:05 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Dan Jonasson, Director of Public Works, City of Minot, and other Minot officials, concerning Minot flood damage and flood mitigation infrastructure development

STATE WATER COMMISSION

2:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Todd Sando, State Engineer, State Water Commission, concerning 2011 flood incidents in North Dakota and water project development in North Dakota

NORTH DAKOTA WATER COALITION

3:00 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Jean Schafer, Executive Director, North Dakota Water Coalition, concerning development of funding priorities by the funding priority subcommittee of the coalition

IRRIGATION

3:30 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Michael Dwyer, Executive Director, North Dakota Irrigation Association, concerning revision of the state's irrigation statutes

COMMITTEE DISCUSSION

4:00 p.m. Committee discussion

4:15 p.m. Recess

Tuesday, July 17, 2012

WESTERN AREA WATER SUPPLY AUTHORITY

9:00 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Denton Zubke, Chairman, Western Area Water Supply Authority, Watford City, concerning activities of the authority

10:00 a.m. Break

10:15 a.m. Presentation by representatives of the Independent Water Providers concerning the development of private water depots and water pipelines to serve industrial water needs in northwestern North Dakota

BANK OF NORTH DAKOTA

11:00 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Bob Humann, Senior Vice President and Chief Lending Officer,

Bank of North Dakota, concerning financing alternatives for water infrastructure

development in North Dakota

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

COMMITTEE DISCUSSION

1:00 p.m. Committee discussion concerning water issues in North Dakota

2:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Curt Hofstad (Chairman), Chuck Damschen, Bill Devlin, Lee Kaldor, Curtiss Kreun, Jon Nelson, Kenton Onstad, Jim Schmidt

Senators Randy Burckhard, Tony Grindberg, Larry Luick, George L. Nodland, Connie Triplett

Staff Contact: Jeffrey N. Nelson, Counsel