NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

WATER-RELATED TOPICS OVERVIEW COMMITTEE

Tuesday, February 28, 2012 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the October 10, 2011, meeting

PRIORITIZATION AND FUNDING OF STATE WATER PROJECTS

- 9:05 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Todd Sando, State Engineer, State Water Commission, and Mr. Dave Laschkewitsch, Director, Administrative Services Division, State Water Commission, concerning:
 - State Water Commission expenditures for the 2011-13 biennium from the resources trust fund and municipal, rural, and industrial water supply funds
 - Prioritization of state water projects
 - Funding of state water projects
- 10:00 a.m. Committee discussion and comments by interested persons in attendance concerning prioritization and funding of state water projects
- 10:15 a.m. Break

NORTH DAKOTA WATER ORGANIZATIONS STRUCTURE

- 10:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Michael Dwyer, Executive Vice President, North Dakota Water Users Association, concerning the formation, structure, and history of North Dakota water organizations
- 11:00 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Jean Schafer, Executive Director, North Dakota Water Coalition, concerning the function of North Dakota water organizations and the water coalition process
- 11:30 a.m. Comments by Mr. Robert Harms, Independent Water Producers, concerning water delivery in North Dakota
- 11:45 a.m. Committee discussion and comments by interested persons in attendance concerning the structure of water organizations in North Dakota
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess

IRRIGATION

- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Michael Dwyer, Executive Director, North Dakota Irrigation Association, concerning irrigation in North Dakota
- 1:30 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Dave Koland, General Manager, Garrison Diversion Conservancy District, Carrington, concerning the district's irrigation project
- 2:00 p.m. Committee discussion and comments by interested persons in attendance concerning irrigation in North Dakota

GENERAL WATER ISSUES

- 2:30 p.m. Committee discussion and comments by interested persons in attendance concerning water issues in North Dakota
- 3:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Curt Hofstad (Chairman), Chuck Damschen, Bill Devlin, Lee Kaldor, Curtiss Kreun, Jon Nelson, Kenton Onstad, Jim Schmidt

Senators Randy Burckhard, Tony Grindberg, Larry Luick, George L. Nodland, Connie Triplett

Staff Contact: Jeffrey N. Nelson, Counsel