NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

PROPERTY TAX MEASURE REVIEW COMMITTEE

Monday, August 15, 2011 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the June 22, 2011, meeting
- 9:05 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of:
 - Compilation of committee questions relating to initiated measure No. 2
 - · Outstanding bonded indebtedness of political subdivisions
 - Information on property foreclosures
 - Funding mechanisms in other states with low property tax rates
 - Court rulings or precedence in initiated measures that have discrepancies
- 9:40 a.m. Presentation by a representative of Arntson Stewart Wegner, PC, relating to types of indebtedness that may be incurred by political subdivisions
- 10:00 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Secretary of State regarding the effective date of the property tax measure
- 10:20 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Tax Department regarding the property tax measure and statutory provisions relating to nonpayment of property taxes
- 10:40 a.m. Comments by representatives of the following regarding the property tax measure:
 - North Dakota Association of Counties
 - North Dakota League of Cities
 - North Dakota School Boards Association
- 11:15 a.m. Comments by representatives of the initiative petition sponsoring committee regarding the provisions of the property tax measure
- 11:45 a.m. Comments by other interested persons regarding the property tax measure
- 12:00 noon Committee discussion and staff directives
- 12:30 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives David Drovdal (Chairman), Larry Bellew, Wesley R. Belter, Tracy Boe, Chuck Damschen, Glen Froseth, Joyce Kingsbury, Kim Koppelman, Ralph Metcalf, Dan Ruby, Clark Williams, Lonny B. Winrich, Steven L. Zaiser

Senators Dwight Cook, Joe Miller, Carolyn C. Nelson, Dave Oehlke, Ronald Sorvaag

Staff Contact: Becky Keller, Senior Fiscal Analyst