NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

EMPLOYEE BENEFITS PROGRAMS COMMITTEE

Thursday, January 12, 2012 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the September 20, 2011, meeting

ACTUARIAL VALUATIONS OF THE TEACHERS' FUND FOR RETIREMENT (TFFR) AND PUBLIC EMPLOYEES RETIREMENT SYSTEM (PERS)

9:05 a.m.

- Overview of the TFFR and PERS valuation process by Ms. Kim Nicholl, FSA, MAAA, FCA, EA, Senior Vice President and National Public Sector Retirement Practice Leader, The Segal Company, Chicago, Illinois
- Presentation by Ms. Nicholl of the July 1, 2011, actuarial valuation of TFFR
- Presentation by Mr. Brad Ramirez, FSA, MAAA, FCA, EA, Consulting Actuary, The Segal Company, Greenwood Village, Colorado, of the July 1, 2011, actuarial valuations of the PERS main system, judges' retirement fund, National Guard retirement fund, Highway Patrolmen's retirement fund, and retiree health benefits fund
- Presentation by Ms. Nicholl and Mr. Ramirez concerning defined benefit, defined contribution, and hybrid retirement system issues

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

STATE INVESTMENT BOARD

1:00 p.m.

Presentation by Mr. John Geissinger, Executive Director and Chief Investment Officer, Retirement and Investment Office, concerning investment returns of the TFFR and PERS retirement funds and the current investment climate

HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT SERVICES

2:00 p.m.

Presentation by representatives of Human Resource Management Services of the report on state employee service awards, employer-paid tuition, and employer-paid professional organization memberships and service club dues from July 1, 2009, through June 30, 2011

2:30 p.m. Committee discussions and staff directives

2:45 p.m. Adjourn

NOTE: The committee may take a 15- to 20-minute break in the morning.

Committee Members

Senators Dick Dever (Chairman), Ray Holmberg, Ralph L. Kilzer, Karen K. Krebsbach, Carolyn C. Nelson, Ronald Sorvaag

Representatives Randy Boehning, Roger Brabandt, Bette Grande, Ron Guggisberg, Scott Louser, Ralph Metcalf, John D. Wall

Staff Contact: Jeffrey N. Nelson, Counsel