Tentative Agenda

SPECIAL SESSION - SENATE

Monday, November 7, 2011 Senate Chamber, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Convene

Prayer Roll call

Justice Dale Sandstrom administers oath of office to newly appointed Senator Ron Carlisle

Election of Ms. Jane Schaible as journal reporter (Senate Rule 206)

Election of Ms. Julie McBride as sergeant-at-arms (Senate Rule 206)

Communication from the Secretary of State delivering executive order by Governor Jack Dalrymple calling the Legislative Assembly into special session

Communication from the Governor nominating Mr. James P. Wang to the State Gaming Commission (term expired July 1, 2011)

Communication from the Governor nominating Mr. Terry L. O'Clair as a member of the Southwestern Low-Level Radioactive Waste Commission

Announcements

- Rules Committee to meet at 9:20 a.m. in the Senate Conference Room
- Committee on Committees to meet at 9:40 a.m. in the Senate Conference Room
- Employment Committee

10:00 a.m. Senate reconvenes to receive committee reports

- Rules Committee report
- Committee on Committees report

Appointment of Joint Legislative Redistricting Committee (8 Senate members of interim committee)

Appointment of Joint Health Care Reform Committee (5 Senate members of interim committee)

Appointment of Select Committee to consider the Governor's nomination to the State Gaming Commission (5)

Appointment of Select Committee to consider the Governor's nomination to the Southwestern Low-Level Radioactive Waste Commission (5)

Other appointments

Announcements

- Joint Session to convene at 10:15 a.m. in the House chamber
- Delayed Bills Committee to meet at 11:00 a.m. in the Harvest Room
- Employment Committee

10:15 a.m. House and Senate convene in joint session in the House chamber

11:00 a.m. Senate Delayed Bills Committee meets in the Harvest Room

- 1:00 p.m. Senate reconvenes to receive committee reports
 - Delayed Bills Committee report
 - Employment Committee report
- 1:30 p.m. Joint Legislative Redistricting Committee meets in the Brynhild Haugland Room House Bill No. 1473, legislative redistricting plan
- 2:30 p.m. Joint Health Care Reform Committee meets in the Brynhild Haugland Room House Bill No. 1474, health benefit exchange; House Bill No. 1476, health insurance external review process
- 2:30 p.m. Tentatively scheduled Senate Education Committee and House Education Committee meet jointly in the Pioneer Room University of North Dakota logo bill
- 4:30 p.m. Tentatively scheduled Senate Appropriations Committee and House Appropriations Committee meet jointly in the Brynhild Haugland Room Disaster relief bill; House Bill No. 1475, Medicaid and children's health insurance program eligibility systems
- 6:30 p.m. Senate reconvenes

Room Scheduling - Tuesday through Friday

Joint Legislative Redistricting Committee - Brynhild Haugland Room - 8:00 to 10:00 a.m. daily Joint Health Care Reform Committee - Brynhild Haugland Room - 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon daily Appropriations Committees meet jointly - Brynhild Haugland Room - 1:00 to 3:00 p.m. daily Education Committees meet jointly - Pioneer Room

Overlapping Memberships

Joint Legislative Redistricting Committee

Senator Jerry Klein and Representatives Nancy Johnson and Jim Kasper are members of the Joint Health Care Reform Committee.

Senators Ray Holmberg, Randel Christmann, Tony Grindberg, and John Warner are members of the Senate Appropriations Committee.

Representatives Larry Bellew, Eliot Glassheim, and David Monson are members of the House Appropriations Committee.

Joint Health Care Reform Committee

Senator Jerry Klein and Representatives Nancy Johnson and Jim Kasper are members of the Joint Legislative Redistricting Committee.

Representatives Eliot Glassheim, Lee Kaldor, Gary Kreidt, and Ralph Metcalf are members of the House Appropriations Committee.

Representatives Lisa Meier and Karen M. Rohr are members of the House Education Committee.