December 23, 2009

## MEETING NOTICE

Senator David O'Connell, Chairman, has called a meeting of the **PUBLIC SAFETY AND TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE**.

- **Date:** Thursday, January 14, 2010
- **Time:** 9:00 a.m.
- Place: Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck
- **Agenda:** Presentations by representatives of the State Department of Health regarding current methods of funding emergency medical services in the state, the current status of the distribution of grants to emergency medical services operations, the status of the retention of a consultant to study issues affecting emergency medical services, and suggestions for implementing a statewide funding formula for emergency medical services; by representatives of the North Dakota EMS Association regarding current methods of funding emergency medical services and suggestions for implementing a statewide funding formula for emergency medical services; by representatives of rural ambulance services and rural fire districts regarding funding, training, and personnel issues; by representatives of the Department of Emergency Services regarding the methods of distributing homeland security grant funding, the interoperability of public safety answering points, the status of construction of new State Radio tower sites and alternatives to sites, the status of the study relating to Next Generation 911, suggestions for improvements to the 911 infrastructure, and the status of the distribution of emergency disaster relief grants; by representatives of the North Dakota Association of Counties regarding the Emergency Services Coordinating Committee and damage caused to roadways by energy development; and by representatives of the Department of Transportation regarding overweight vehicle fees, damages to roadways by energy development activities, motor fuels taxes and motor vehicle registration fees collections, motor vehicle registration requirements, federal stimulus funding obligated for highway infrastructure projects, 2010 road projects, updates to high-priority, north-south corridors, and the status of the federal REAL ID and PASS ID Acts.
- **Special Note:** Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.
- **Committee Members:** Senators David O'Connell, Dwight Cook, Gary A. Lee, Elroy N. Lindaas, Richard Marcellais, George Nodland; Representatives Edmund Gruchalla, Bob Hunskor, Jerry Kelsh, James Kerzman, Matthew M. Klein, William E. Kretschmar, Bob Martinson, Michael R. Nathe, Todd Porter, Arlo Schmidt, Elwood Thorpe, Gerry Uglem, Don Vigesaa, Robin Weisz

## Staff Contacts: Brady A. Larson, Fiscal Analyst Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member unable to attend this meeting is asked to notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Jim W. Smith Director

JWS/AL