September 1, 2009

## MEETING NOTICE

Representative Bob Skarphol, Chairman, has called a meeting of the HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE.

- Date: Wednesday, September 23, 2009
- Time: 9:00 a.m.
- Place: Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck
- **Agenda:** Presentations by representatives of the North Dakota University System regarding the recommendations of the 1999-2000 Higher Education Roundtable and the status of the implementation of the recommendations; suggested changes to the Higher Education Roundtable recommendations; a tuition waiver study conducted by the University System; the types and value of tuition waivers granted by higher education institutions; 2007-09 biennium general fund appropriation authority continued into the 2009-11 biennium; previous and current higher education funding methods, including potential changes to the current higher education funding method; information regarding reciprocity agreements with other states; student enrollment information; the costs and student completion rates of distance education delivery methods and traditional classroom delivery methods; total funding available for higher education programs through the federal American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009; and comments regarding a higher education productivity report and other presentations, including a presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding the recommendations of the 1999-2000 Higher Education Roundtable, including the status of the implementation of the recommendations
- **Special Note:** Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.
- **Committee Members:** Representatives Bob Skarphol, Lois Delmore, Mark A. Dosch, Kathy Hawken, Brenda Heller, Dennis Johnson, Nancy Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Joe Kroeber, Bob Martinson, Darrell D. Nottestad, Kenton Onstad, Ken Svedjan, Clark Williams; Senators John M. Andrist, Tim Flakoll, Tony S. Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething, David O'Connell, Larry J. Robinson, Tom Seymour

Staff Contacts: Brady A. Larson, Fiscal Analyst Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member unable to attend this meeting is asked to notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Jim W. Smith Director

JWS/CS