## **MEETING NOTICE**

Representative Ken Svedjan, Chairman, has called a meeting of the GOVERNMENT SERVICES COMMITTEE.

**Date:** Tuesday, August 17, 2010

**Time:** 9:00 a.m.

**Place:** Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck

Agenda:

Presentations by representatives of Hay Group regarding preliminary findings and recommendations of the state employee compensation system study; by Legislative Council staff regarding components to include in a compensation philosophy statement; by representatives of the Office of Management and Budget relating to elected officials' salaries, lease agreements for lands held by the Capitol building fund, space leased by state agencies, and location, expenses, and square footage requirements of all facilities occupied by state agencies; by representatives of Workforce Safety and Insurance relating to maintenance and operating costs for its building and the cost-benefit analysis of owning the building versus leasing; by representatives of the Department of Human Services relating to the possibility of Medicaid paying for eligible veterans' prescription drug costs not covered by the federal Department of Veterans' Affairs; by representatives of the State Treasurer's office regarding the status of the veterans' postwar trust fund; and other presentations, including presentations by representatives of the Department of Veterans' Affairs relating to the status of county veterans' service officers, the use of funding from the hardship assistance program, and a comparison of the North Dakota and federal government definitions of veteran

**Special Note:** Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Representatives Ken Svedjan, Larry Bellew, Randy Boehning, Kari L. Conrad, Glen Froseth, Bette B. Grande, Karen Karls, Ralph Metcalf, Michael R. Nathe, Louise Potter, David S. Rust, Blair Thoreson, Dave Weiler, Alon C. Wieland; Senators Dick Dever, Robert M. Horne, Elroy N. Lindaas, Richard Marcellais, Carolyn Nelson

**Staff Contacts:** Becky Keller, Senior Fiscal Analyst

Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member unable to attend this meeting is asked to notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Jim W. Smith Director

JWS/JFB