NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

WATER-RELATED TOPICS OVERVIEW COMMITTEE

Wednesday, December 9, 2009 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the August 12, 2009, meeting

STATE WATER COMMISSION

- 9:05 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Dale Frink, State Engineer, and State Water Commission and State Engineer's office staff concerning:
 - State Water Commission expenditures for the 2007-09 biennium from the resources trust fund and municipal, rural, and industrial water supply funds;
 - State Water Commission state water plan and funding policy;
 - Project authorization and funding, specifically the criteria the State Water Commission uses to determine whether a project is a state project;
 - State Water Commission cost-share procedures and percentages;
 - Drafting and development of cost-share agreements;
 - A description of the permitting process for water supply and flood control projects, including permit review process, permit rejection criteria, and permit issuance criteria;
 - Timeline of prioritization of projects; and
 - Information that is supplied to water commissioners and other interested parties before State Water Commission meetings.
- 10:45 a.m. Committee discussion and comments by other interested persons in attendance

GARRISON DIVERSION CONSERVANCY DISTRICT

- 11:00 a.m. Presentation by Mr. David Koland, General Manager, Garrison Diversion Conservancy District, Carrington, concerning the Red River Valley Water Supply Project and 2007-09 expenditures; the provisions of the municipal, rural, and industrial water supply contract with the state; an update of the municipal, rural, and industrial water supply program; and projects that have been funded by municipal, rural, and industrial water supply funds
- 11:45 a.m. Committee discussion and comments by other interested persons in attendance
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess

SOUTHWEST WATER AUTHORITY

- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Mary Massad, Manager/CEO, Southwest Water Authority, Dickinson, and Southwest Water Authority staff concerning the history and initial plan of the Southwest Water Authority and current status and future of the authority and authority projects
- 1:45 p.m. Committee discussion and comments by other interested persons in attendance

- 2:00 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 2:15 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Tom Fischer (Chairman), Arden C. Anderson, Joan Heckaman, Gary A. Lee Representatives Rick Berg, Duane DeKrey, Curt Hofstad, Jon Nelson, Darrell D. Nottestad

Staff Contact: Jeffrey N. Nelson, Counsel