NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

WORKFORCE COMMITTEE

Tuesday, March 30, 2010
Brynhild Haugland Room, State Capitol
Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the previous meeting

Comments by the chairman

9:05 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of information regarding:

- A tentative survey of center of excellence private sector partners;
- Followup information on the Wyoming Hathaway scholarship program; and
- 2009 legislation related to 2007-08 interim Workforce Committee consultant recommendations
- 9:20 a.m. Status report by representatives of the North Dakota Youth Council regarding the council's activities
- 9:45 a.m. Committee discussion regarding the status and uses of the foundation aid stabilization fund
- 10:00 a.m. Break
- 10:15 a.m. Receipt of information from Mr. Peter A. Birkeland, Chief Financial Officer, RAIN Source Capital, St. Paul, Minnesota, and Mr. Ryan A. Rauschenberger, Deputy Tax Commissioner, regarding:
 - Access to angel and seed capital in North Dakota;
 - Access to angel and seed capital in other states and regions;
 - · Best practices in increasing access to angel and seed capital; and
 - The possibility of allowing the sale or transfer of angel and seed capital tax credits, including challenges and how other states have addressed these challenges

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

11:30 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Andrea Holl Pfennig, Division of Community Services, Department of Commerce, of the annual renaissance zone progress report

Committee discussion

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Presentation of a proposal for creating a North Dakota Technology Development Corporation by Dr. Phyllis E. Johnson, Vice President for Research and Economic

Development, University of North Dakota

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

2:00 p.m. Presentation of the North Dakota University System's strategic plan by Mr. William G.

Goetz, Chancellor, North Dakota University System, and by other interested persons

3:00 p.m. Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

4:00 p.m. Adjourn

The committee will resume activities at 8:30 a.m. on Wednesday, March 31, 2010, in the House chamber in a joint committee meeting with the Education Committee and Higher Education Committee.

Committee Members

Senators Tony S. Grindberg (Chairman), Tim Flakoll, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Dave Nething, Larry J. Robinson, Mac Schneider, Tom Seymour, Ryan M. Taylor

Representatives Donald L. Clark, Eliot Glassheim, Nancy Johnson, Lee Kaldor, Lisa Meier, Corey Mock, Lee Myxter, Michael R. Nathe, Ken Svedjan, Clark Williams

Staff Contact: Jennifer S. N. Clark, Counsel