NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

WORKERS' COMPENSATION REVIEW COMMITTEE

Thursday, June 24, 2010 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 10:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Approval of the minutes from the previous meeting Comments by the chairman
- 10:10 a.m. Report by Mr. Gordy Smith, State Auditor's office, regarding the status of the independent performance evaluation of Workforce Safety and Insurance (WSI) being conducted under North Dakota Century Code Section 65-02-30 and the components of the evaluation related to the committee's study of workers' compensation laws in this state and other states with respect to prior injuries, preexisting conditions, and degenerative conditions as required under 2009 House Concurrent Resolution No. 3008 and relating to the WSI study of postretirement benefits available to an individual whose disability benefits end at the time of Social Security retirement eligibility as required under 2009 House Bill No. 1525

Comments be interested persons regarding the evaluation

Committee discussion

10:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Timothy Wahlin, Workforce Safety and Insurance, regarding the outcome of WSI's continuing jurisdiction review project

Comments by interested persons regarding WSI's continuing jurisdiction review project

Committee discussion

- 11:00 a.m. Committee discussion regarding the three workers' compensation claims that have been reviewed by the committee during the 2009-10 interim
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Review of injured employee's workers' compensation claim
 - Summary by Mr. Chuck Kocher, Workforce Safety and Insurance, of the injured employee's claim
 - Presentation by Ms. Sharon Eslinger, injured employee, of her workers' compensation claim and issues
 - Testimony by a representative of WSI regarding the injured employee's claim and issues
 - Comments by interested persons regarding the issues raised by the injured employee and WSI
 - Committee discussion and directives
- 4:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Dan Ruby (Chairman), Bill Amerman, Francis J. Wald Senators Richard Marcellais, Terry M. Wanzek, Rich Wardner