NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

PUBLIC SAFETY AND TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

Thursday, September 23, 2010 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the August 4, 2010, meeting

STUDY OF HIGHWAY CONSTRUCTION FUNDING

- 9:05 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Department of Transportation of:
 - Information regarding overweight vehicle permit fees, including whether the fees
 provide adequate funding for the cost of issuing the permit and for the estimated
 damage caused to roadways
 - A report regarding the use of state, federal, emergency, and other highway funding pursuant to Section 11 of 2009 Senate Bill No. 2012
- 9:25 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of bill drafts relating to the committee's study of highway construction funding relating to:
 - Overweight vehicle permit violations in home rule counties
 - The allocation of fees assessed to operators of overweight vehicles
 - Oil impact-related infrastructure development grants
 - Motor vehicle excise tax allocations
 - Appropriations from the permanent oil tax trust fund to the highway tax distribution fund and state highway fund
- 9:45 a.m. Comments by other interested persons regarding the bill drafts or the committee's study of highway construction funding
- 9:55 a.m. Committee discussion

STUDY OF 911 SERVICES AND INFRASTRUCTURE

- 10:35 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Department of Emergency Services regarding the following items pursuant to Section 12 of 2009 House Bill No. 1016:
 - An update on the status of the study of the effects of Next Generation 911
 - An overview of the use of funding designated for alternatives for constructing new State Radio tower sites
 - An update on the status of the implementation of a State Radio tower site near Wales
- 11:00 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a revised bill draft to provide funding for the operational costs of providing access to the state message switch for entities that utilize wireless access cards for mobile data systems and to increase fees charged for the use of the law enforcement teletype system
- 11:10 a.m. Comments by other interested persons regarding the bill draft
- 11:15 a.m. Committee discussion

- 11:25 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft regarding emergency services communication systems
- 11:35 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Emergency Services Communications Coordinating Committee regarding the bill draft to provide for changes in emergency services communication systems
- 11:50 a.m. Comments by other interested persons regarding the bill draft or the committee's study of 911 services and infrastructure
- 11:55 a.m. Committee discussion
- 12:05 p.m. Luncheon recess

STUDY OF EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES FUNDING

- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the State Department of Health regarding:
 - An overview of the emergency medical services staffing grant program, including an update on grants awarded
 - An update on the rural emergency medical services improvement project
- 1:20 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a revised bill draft to provide funding for emergency medical services
- 1:30 p.m. Comments by other interested persons regarding the bill draft or the committee's study of emergency medical services funding
- 1:40 p.m. Committee discussion

OTHER COMMITTEE RESPONSIBILITIES

- 1:50 p.m. Presentation of a report by the Department of Emergency Services regarding emergency disaster relief grants provided to political subdivisions pursuant to 2009 Senate Bill No. 2012
- 2:10 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives, including a motion to prepare the committee's final report and any recommended bill drafts for presentation to the Legislative Management
- 3:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators David O'Connell (Chairman), Dwight Cook, Gary A. Lee, Elroy N. Lindaas, Richard Marcellais, George Nodland

Representatives Edmund Gruchalla, Bob Hunskor, Jerry Kelsh, James Kerzman, Matthew M. Klein, William E. Kretschmar, Bob Martinson, Michael R. Nathe, Todd Porter, Arlo Schmidt, Elwood Thorpe, Gerry Uglem, Don Vigesaa, Robin Weisz

Staff Contacts: Brady A. Larson, Fiscal Analyst

Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor