## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

## **Tentative Agenda**

## **HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE**

Thursday, April 1, 2010 House Chamber, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 8:30 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the March 2, 2010, meeting
- 8:35 a.m. Comments by the chairman regarding the committee meeting and introduction of members of the private sector that will be serving on the Higher Education Roundtable
- 8:50 a.m. Presentation by Dr. David Breneman, Professor of Economics and Education, University of Virginia, regarding the future of higher education
- 9:35 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Larry Isaak, President, Midwestern Higher Education Compact, regarding the advancement of college access and success
- 10:35 a.m. Comments by a representative of the North Dakota University System regarding the information received by the committee at the March 31, 2010, joint meeting
- 11:00 a.m. Comments and discussion by committee members and committee guests regarding the information received by the committee at the March 31, 2010, joint meeting and other higher education issues
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota University System regarding the State Board of Higher Education strategic plan
- 1:40 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum comparing the Department of Commerce's draft economic development strategic plan and the State Board of Higher Education strategic plan
- 1:45 p.m. Comments and discussion by committee members and committee guests regarding the State Board of Higher Education strategic plan and the Department of Commerce's draft economic development strategic plan
- 2:10 p.m. Comments by other interested persons regarding the committee's study of Higher Education
- 2:20 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 3:00 p.m. Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Representatives Bob Skarphol (Chairman), Lois Delmore, Mark A. Dosch, Kathy Hawken, Brenda Heller, Dennis Johnson, Nancy Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Joe Kroeber, Bob Martinson, Darrell D. Nottestad, Kenton Onstad, Ken Svedjan, Clark Williams

Senators John M. Andrist, Tim Flakoll, Tony S. Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething, David O'Connell, Larry J. Robinson, Tom Seymour

Staff Contacts: Brady A. Larson, Fiscal Analyst

Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor