## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

**Tentative Agenda** 

## **GOVERNMENT SERVICES COMMITTEE**

Thursday, September 30, 2010 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the August 17, 2010, meeting

## CLASSIFIED STATE EMPLOYEE COMPENSATION SYSTEM STUDY AND STATE ELECTED OFFICIALS' SALARIES STUDY

- 9:05 a.m. Presentation by representatives of Hay Group regarding the final report, including findings and recommendations, relating to the classified state employee compensation system study
- 11:45 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a draft state compensation philosophy statement
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Comments by the following regarding the draft state compensation philosophy statement:
  - Governor's office
  - Office of Management and Budget
  - North Dakota Public Employee Association
- 1:30 p.m. Comments by other interested persons regarding the draft state compensation philosophy statement and the classified state employee compensation system study
- 1:45 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives regarding the classified state employee compensation system study
- 2:00 p.m. Comments by other interested persons regarding the committee's study of elected officials' salaries
- 2:15 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives regarding the study of elected officials' salaries

## CAPITOL COMPLEX AND STATE FACILITIES STUDY

- 2:30 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the Office of Management and Budget regarding a report on the location, expenses, and square footage requirements of all facilities occupied by each state agency and recommendations for relocation of any entity to achieve improvements in service and efficiencies in usage of space and cost in accordance with North Dakota Century Code Section 54-44-04(24)
- 3:15 p.m. Comments by other interested persons regarding the committee's study of the Capitol complex and state facilities
- 3:30 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives regarding the Capitol complex and state facilities study
- 4:30 p.m. Adjourn

- Representatives Ken Svedjan (Chairman), Larry Bellew, Randy Boehning, Kari L. Conrad, Glen Froseth, Bette B. Grande, Karen Karls, Ralph Metcalf, Michael R. Nathe, Louise Potter, David S. Rust, Blair Thoreson, Dave Weiler, Alon C. Wieland
- Senators Dick Dever, Robert M. Horne, Elroy N. Lindaas, Richard Marcellais, Carolyn Nelson

Staff Contacts: Becky Keller, Senior Fiscal Analyst

Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor