NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

GOVERNMENT SERVICES COMMITTEE

Thursday, April 22, 2010 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes from the March 10, 2010, meeting
	CLASSIFIED STATE EMPLOYEE COMPENSATION SYSTEM STUDY
9:05 a.m.	AND STATE ELECTED OFFICIALS' SALARIES STUDY Presentation by Legislative Council staff regarding other states' compensation philosophy statements
9:15 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of Hay Group regarding the classified state employee compensation system study
10:30 a.m.	Comments by other interested persons regarding the committee's study of the classified state employee compensation system
	STATE ELECTED OFFICIALS' SALARIES STUDY
10:35 a.m.	Presentation by Legislative Council staff regarding a summary of elected officials' salaries
10:40 a.m.	Comments by other interested persons regarding the committee's study of elected officials' salaries
10:45 a.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives regarding the study of elected officials' salaries
10:55 a.m.	CAPITOL COMPLEX AND STATE FACILITIES STUDY Presentation by a representative of the Office of Management and Budget regarding:
	 Historical information relating to space leased by state agencies
	Status and use of the Capitol building fund
11:15 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Capitol Grounds Planning Commission regarding the Capitol complex master plan, activities during the 2009-11 biennium, and any suggestions for committee consideration
11:35 a.m.	Presentations by representatives of the following agencies regarding their space utilization and needs:
	Attorney General
	Judicial branch
	Information Technology Department
12:05 p.m.	Comments by other interested persons regarding the committee's study of the Capitol complex and state facilities
12:15 p.m.	Luncheon recess
	OTHER COMMITTEE RESPONSIBILITIES

Presentation by a representative of the Department of Human Services regarding the

eligibility requirements for Medicaid relating to veterans

1:00 p.m.

1:20 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Department of Veterans' Affairs regarding eligibility requirements for the emergency grant program for veterans
1:40 p.m.	Comments by other interested persons regarding the committee's other responsibilities
2:00 p.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
3:00 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Ken Svedjan (Chairman), Larry Bellew, Randy Boehning, Kari L. Conrad, Glen Froseth, Bette B. Grande, Karen Karls, Ralph Metcalf, Michael R. Nathe, Louise Potter, David S. Rust, Blair Thoreson, Dave Weiler, Alon C. Wieland Senators Dick Dever, Robert M. Horne, Elroy N. Lindaas, Richard Marcellais, Carolyn Nelson

Staff Contacts: Becky Keller, Senior Fiscal Analyst

Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor