## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

## Tentative Agenda

## **EDUCATION COMMITTEE**

Wednesday, January 6, 2010 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Approval of the minutes of the previous meeting
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Linda M. Paluck, Director, School Approval and Accreditation, Department of Public Instruction, regarding proposed changes to the school approval process
9:30 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Paluck regarding the state requirements for school accreditation
10:15 a.m.	Break
10:30 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Jerry Coleman, Director, School Finance, Department of Public Instruction, regarding the payment of state aid to accredited and nonaccredited schools
10:45 a.m.	Comments by others regarding school approval and accreditation
11:30 a.m.	Presentation by Lt. Governor Jack Dalrymple regarding activities of the North Dakota Commission on Education Improvement
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota Education Association regarding teacher salaries
1:30 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota Education Association regarding teacher contract provisions affecting or applicable to waivers of schooldays
1:45 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Department of Public Instruction regarding:
	<ul> <li>Waivers of schooldays in years preceding the 2008-09 school year</li> </ul>
	The number of student contact days per district
	<ul> <li>The number of students who attended school outside their district of residence as a result of the 2009 floods</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>The costs incurred by districts that hosted students displaced as a result of the 2009 floods</li> </ul>
2:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Robert J. Parisien, Indian Education Program Administrator, Indian Affairs Commission, regarding challenges faced by schools in Indian country
2:15 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Department of Public Instruction regarding statistics pertaining to the education of Indian students
2:30 p.m.	Break
2:45 p.m.	Comments by others
	Committee discussion
	Staff directives

Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Representatives David Monson (Chairman), Rod Froelich, Lyle Hanson, Brenda Heller, Bob Hunskor, Dennis Johnson, Karen Karls, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Jerry Kelsh, Lisa Meier, Corey Mock, Phillip Mueller, Lee Myxter, David S. Rust, John D. Wall

Senators JoNell A. Bakke, Robert S. Erbele, Layton W. Freborg, Dave Oehlke

Staff Contact: L. Anita Thomas, Counsel