NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

EMPLOYEE BENEFITS PROGRAMS COMMITTEE

Tuesday, September 21, 2010 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the previous meeting
- 9:05 a.m. Technical comments and public input on Employee Benefits Programs Committee bills

TEACHERS' FUND FOR RETIREMENT (TFFR)

- Bill No. 54 Employee and employer contribution requirements, eligibility for normal unreduced retirement benefits, eligibility for early reduced retirement benefits, eligibility for disability benefits, and retiree reemployment under TFFR (TFFR)
- Bill No. 55 Employee and employer contribution requirements, eligibility for normal unreduced retirement benefits, eligibility for early reduced retirement benefits, eligibility for disability benefits, and retiree reemployment under TFFR, and an appropriation (TFFR)
- Bill No. 56 Definitions of beneficiary and salary, incorporation of federal law changes, and modification of death and beneficiary provisions under TFFR (TFFR)
- Bill No. 39 Eligibility for and determination of benefits under TFFR (Representative Drovdal)
- Bill No. 40 Determination of benefits under TFFR (Representative Drovdal)
- Bill No. 2 Defined contribution plan for new teachers (Representative Wald)

PUBLIC EMPLOYEES RETIREMENT SYSTEM (PERS)

- Bill No. 80 Defined contribution plan for new state employees (Representative Wald)
- Bill No. 51 Increased employee contributions under the Highway Patrolmen's retirement plan and PERS (PERS)
- Bill No. 52 Increased employer and temporary employee contributions under the Highway Patrolmen's retirement plan and PERS (PERS)
- Bill No. 53 Increased employer and employee contributions under the Highway Patrolmen's retirement plan and PERS (PERS)
- Bill No. 59 Special annuity purchases in the alternate retirement program for North Dakota University System employees, surviving spouse payment options under the Highway Patrolmen's retirement plan, calculation of member service credit under the Highway Patrolmen's retirement plan, election of members to the PERS Board, calculation of normal retirement date for peace officers and correctional officers under PERS, payment of member account balances under PERS, purchase of sick leave credit under PERS, spousal elections to participate in the uniform group insurance program, reporting of employer pickups under the defined contribution retirement plan, and Internal Revenue Code compliance under the Highway Patrolmen's retirement plan and PERS (PERS)

UNIFORM GROUP INSURANCE PROGRAM

- Bill No. 60 Subgroups under the uniform group insurance program (PERS)
- Bill No. 1 Retiree health benefits for members of the Legislative Assembly (Senator Mathern)
- Bill No. 9 Public Employees Retirement System medical benefits coverage for autism spectrum disorders (Senators Nelson and Wardner)
- Bill No. 36 Expansion of the uniform group insurance program to allow participation by permanent and temporary employees of private sector employers and by certain other individuals who are otherwise without health insurance coverage (Senator Mathern)
- Bill No. 38 Powers and duties of the Department of Human Services (Senator Mathern)
- Bill No. 68 Establishment and operation of member-run nonprofit health insurance issuers (Senator Mathern)
- Bill No. 103 Health savings accounts under the uniform group insurance program (Representative Carlson)

Review of legislative measures and proposals submitted to the Employee Benefits Programs Committee affecting public employees retirement programs and health and retiree health plans

TEACHERS' FUND FOR RETIREMENT

Bill No. 217 Calculation of final average salary under TFFR (Representative Wald)

Presentation by Mr. Sparb Collins, Executive Director, Public Employees Retirement System, concerning the uniform group health insurance program and federal health care reform legislation

- 3:00 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 3:15 p.m. Adjourn

NOTE: The committee may take a 15- to 20-minute break in the morning and will take a one-hour lunch break at 12:00 noon.

Committee Members

Representatives Bette B. Grande (Chairman), David Drovdal, Ralph Metcalf, Francis J. Wald, Lisa Wolf Senators Ray Holmberg, Ralph L. Kilzer, Karen K. Krebsbach, Carolyn Nelson