HOUSE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION

CHAPTER 660

HOUSE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 7001

(Memorial Resolutions Committee)

HOUSE MEMBERS MEMORIAL

A memorial resolution for deceased members of the House of Representatives of North Dakota.

WHEREAS. God has welcomed to their eternal home our former colleagues:

Pershing Boe, who served in the 37th Legislative Assembly, from District 9, died December 10, 2006;

Curtis E. Brekke, who served in the 56th and 57th Legislative Assemblies, from District 15, died August 31, 2006;

Chris Christopherson, who served in the 53rd through the 55th Legislative Assemblies, from District 11, died October 26, 2006;

John D. Crabtree, who served in the 45th through the 47th Legislative Assemblies, from District 26, died July 9, 2006;

Donald Hawk Crothers, who served in the 33rd Legislative Assembly, from District 9, died December 16, 2005;

Helen Claire Ferguson, who served in the 40th Legislative Assembly, from District 12, died February 2, 2007;

Melfred Hogenson, who served in the 36th Legislative Assembly, from District 22, died November 1, 2006;

James N. Kent, who served in the 40th Legislative Assembly, from District 19, died March 12, 2005;

Harley R. Kingsbury, who served in the 40th through the 43rd and the 46th through the 51st Legislative Assemblies, from District 16, died April 24, 2006;

Richard Kouba, who served in the 51st Legislative Assembly, from District 35, died July 2, 2005;

Tom Kuchera, who served in the 45th through the 47th Legislative Assemblies, from District 18, and in the 48th through the 50th Legislative Assemblies, from District 17-18, died September 2, 2006;

Violetta S. LaGrave, who served in the 43rd Legislative Assembly, from District 34, died November 10, 2005;

Theodore A. Lang, who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 27; in the 40th through the 42nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 32; and in the 43rd through the 51st Legislative Assemblies, from District 31, died March 5, 2006;

- C. Arnold Lillehaugen, who served in the 40th and 41st Legislative Assemblies, from District 17, died April 10, 2006;
- Ted G. Maragos, who served in the 37th and 38th Legislative Assemblies, from District 29, died October 25, 2006;

Edward Metzger, who served in the 40th through the 44th Legislative Assemblies, from District 32, died July 2, 2006;

Bert Miller, who served in the 42nd, 44th, and 45th Legislative Assemblies, from District 14, died August 14, 2006;

Clifford Moquist, who served in the 40th and 41st Legislative Assemblies, from District 11, died December 19, 2005:

Olaf Opedahl, who served in the 38th and 39th Legislative Assemblies, from District 45, and in the 40th through the 50th Legislative Assemblies, from District 2, died May 3, 2005;

Everett N. Paulsen, who served in the 38th Legislative Assembly, from District 10, died April 8, 2006;

Denver Rosberg, who served in the 34th Legislative Assembly, from District 46, died February 28, 2005;

Charles A. Russell, who served in the 45th Legislative Assembly, from District 48, died July 26, 2006;

Don Shide, who served in the 48th through the 54th Legislative Assemblies, from District 19, died November 25, 2006;

Bryce Streibel, who served in the 35th, 36th, 38th, and 39th Legislative Assemblies, from District 33, and in the 40th through the 43rd Legislative Assemblies, from District 14, died August 13, 2006;

Marvin Tollefson, who served in the 40th Legislative Assembly, from District 13, died July 29, 2006;

Wilbur Vander Vorst, who served in the 43rd through the 51st Legislative Assemblies, from District 30, died November 8, 2005;

Robert Wells, who served in the 40th and 41st Legislative Assemblies, from District 10, died March 1, 2005; and

WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former House colleagues and to honor their memories; and

WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by their contributions to public service;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF NORTH DAKOTA:

That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the House of Representatives and that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the surviving families of these deceased representatives.

Filed March 20, 2007