#### NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

## **WORKFORCE COMMITTEE**

Wednesday and Thursday, April 9-10, 2008
Nafus Student Center, Jamestown College, Jamestown, North Dakota
State Capitol, Bismarck, North Dakota

## **WORKFORCE SYSTEM STUDY**

# Focus Group - Young Professionals and Students

Wednesday, April 9, 2008 - Young professionals and students focus group - Nafus Student Center, Jamestown College, Jamestown (Committee members, students, and young professionals are asked to sit at round tables in the center of the room. All others in attendance at the meeting are asked to sit at chairs lining the end and the perimeter of the room - Dress business casual.)

9:30 a.m. Registration

10:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Welcome and comments by committee chairman, Senator Tony Grindberg, and Mr. Shane C. Goettle, Commissioner of Commerce

10:10 a.m. Mr. Thomas P. Miller and Mr. Roy Vanderford, Thomas P. Miller and Associates, Greenfield, Indiana, facilitation of focus group

- Introductions
- Overview of process and expectations
- Overview of key workforce data
- Complimentary working lunch for all attendees
- Breakout sessions
- Wrap-up

2:00 p.m. Recess

## **Workforce Congress**

Thursday, April 10, 2008 - 9:30 a.m. to 11:15 a.m., House chamber, State Capitol, Bismarck (Committee members and participants who received invitations are asked to sit at the House chamber desks. Members of the public are asked to sit in the balcony.)

9:00 a.m. Registration

9:30 a.m. Welcome and opening remarks by Senator Tony Grindberg, Chairman, and Representative Dan Ruby, Vice Chairman

9:40 a.m. Welcome and comments by Governor John Hoeven

9:55 a.m. Welcome and comments by Mr. Shane Goettle, Commissioner of Commerce

10:05 a.m. Presentation by committee consultants, Mr. Thomas P. Miller and Mr. Roy Vanderford, regarding:

- Overview of workforce system study process and destination
- Process and expectations for today's Workforce Congress
- Key economic and workforce facts about North Dakota

 Highlights and insights from the four regional focus groups and the students and young professionals focus group

Committee consultants will give setup instructions for small group discussion sessions to follow. Each session will focus on desired changes in behavior by key groups which will have a positive effect on North Dakota's ability to respond to workforce challenges. Each session will begin with an overview of past legislative action in that category followed by options for actions in the upcoming 2009 legislative session. The four categories of study are:

- Employer behaviors
- Individual behaviors Workers and students
- Educator behaviors Secondary and postsecondary
- Government behaviors

11:15 a.m. Break and transition to small group assigned rooms

Thursday, April 10, 2008 - 11:30 a.m. to 1:45 p.m., Harvest, Roughrider, Prairie, and Pioneer Rooms (Committee members and participants who received invitations will break into four small groups for discussion sessions. Each small group will be assigned to meet in one of the four rooms. The activities of the small groups will include a working lunch. Members of the public may attend any or all of the small group meetings.)

- 11:30 a.m. Each of the small groups will receive facilitation assistance by Mr. Miller, Mr. Vanderford, Senator Grindberg, or Mr. Goettle. Committee members will attend the small group discussion sessions, participate in discussions with the session members, and provide content information on past legislation and legislative proposals as appropriate.
- 1:45 p.m. Break and transition to House chamber

Thursday, April 10, 2008 - 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m., House chamber (Committee members and participants who received invitations are asked to sit at the House chamber desks. Members of the public are asked to sit in the balcony.)

- 2:00 p.m. Reports by Mr. Miller, Mr. Vanderford, Senator Grindberg, and Mr. Goettle regarding the activities and proposals of each of the four small groups
- 3:00 p.m. Discussion by committee members and invited participants of proposed actions

  Closing remarks by committee chairman
- 4:00 p.m. Adjourn

### **Committee Members**

Senators Tony Grindberg (Chairman), Ray Holmberg, Dave Nething, Tom Seymour Representatives Donald L. Clark, Stacey Dahl, Mary Ekstrom, Glen Froseth, Eliot Glassheim, Pam Gulleson, Nancy Johnson, George J. Keiser, Lisa Meier, Lee Myxter, Dan J. Ruby, Clark Williams, Steve Zaiser