NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

Friday, September 14, 2007 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Review of the Legislative Council supplementary rules of operation and procedure
9:10 a.m.	Comments by the chairman regarding the responsibilities of the committee
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
9:15 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the study of highway funding and infrastructure needs
9:40 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Mark Johnson and Mr. Jon Mielke, Upper Great Plains Transportation Institute, on generating public involvement in the transportation policy and funding decisionmaking process
10:00 a.m.	Committee questions and discussion
10:10 a.m.	Break
10:25 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Francis Ziegler, Director, Department of Transportation, on highway funding and infrastructure needs
10:55 a.m.	Committee questions and discussion
11:05 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on railroad risk assessments, hazardous cargo, and responses to emergencies
11:20 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
11:35 a.m.	Committee discussion
11:45 a.m.	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on exemptions to Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations
1:15 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Highway Patrol on the study of exemptions to Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations
1:35 p.m.	Comments by interested persons
1:40 p.m.	Committee discussion
2:00 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators David O'Connell (Chairman), Robert S. Erbele, Gary A. Lee, Jim Pomeroy Representatives Mark A. Dosch, Edmund Gruchalla, Kathy Hawken, Bob Hunskor, Keith Kempenich, William E. Kretschmar, Bob Martinson, Mark S. Owens, Dan J. Ruby, Arlo Schmidt, Dorvan Solberg, Elwood Thorpe, Robin Weisz