NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

Wednesday, January 30, 2008 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the previous meeting
9:10 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Jon Mielke, Upper Great Plains Transportation Institute, on generating public involvement in the transportation policy and funding decisionmaking process
9:20 a.m.	Presentation by Colonel Mark A. Nelson, Superintendent, Highway Patrol, on an exemption from the rear-end protection requirements of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations
9:30 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Greg Wilz, Director, Division of Homeland Security, Department of Emergency Services, on rail security
9:45 a.m.	Break
10:00 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Steven D. Strege, Executive Vice President, North Dakota Grain Dealers Association, on railcar issues
10:20 a.m.	Presentation by representatives of the Department of Transportation on transportation funding, state revenues, the REAL ID Act, and other transportation issues
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff on weight and height rules and exemptions
1:15 p.m.	Comments by interested persons
1:30 p.m.	Committee discussion
1:45 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators David O'Connell (Chairman), Robert S. Erbele, Gary A. Lee, Jim Pomeroy Representatives Mark A. Dosch, Edmund Gruchalla, Kathy Hawken, Bob Hunskor, Keith Kempenich, William E. Kretschmar, Bob Martinson, Mark S. Owens, Dan J. Ruby, Arlo Schmidt, Dorvan Solberg, Elwood Thorpe, Robin Weisz