NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

TAXATION COMMITTEE

Wednesday, July 18, 2007 Prairie Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Review of Legislative Council supplementary rules of operation and procedure 9:05 a.m. Comments by the chairman regarding committee studies 9:10 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the property tax reform and relief study 9:30 a.m. Review by the Tax Department staff of information available in the 2006 Property Tax Statistical Report and State and Local Taxes 2006 (Red Book) published by the Tax Commissioner's office 10:00 a.m. Presentation by the Tax Department staff relating to reports to the interim Taxation Committee, required by 2007 House Bill No. 1303, from counties that have not implemented soil survey information in agricultural property assessments 10:10 a.m. Committee discussion and directives regarding county reports to the committee relating to use of soil survey information in agricultural property assessments 10:15 a.m. Coffee break 10:30 a.m. Comments by interested persons in attendance regarding the property tax reform and relief study 10:40 a.m. Committee discussion and directives regarding the property tax reform and relief study 11:00 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the study of political subdivision reliance on property tax revenue 11:10 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota League of Cities relating to the committee study of political subdivision reliance on property tax revenue 11:15 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota Association of Counties relating to the committee study of political subdivision reliance on property tax revenue 11:20 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota School Boards Association relating to the committee study of political subdivision reliance on property tax revenue 11:25 a.m. Comments by interested persons in attendance 11:35 a.m. Committee discussion and directives regarding the committee study of political subdivision reliance on property tax revenue 11:45 a.m. Luncheon recess 1:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the income tax study 1:20 p.m. Comments by interested persons in attendance Committee discussion and directives 1:25 p.m.

- 1:40 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the oil and gas tax revenue allocation study
- 1:50 p.m. Comments by interested persons in attendance
- 2:00 p.m. Committee discussion and directives
- 2:15 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

- Senators Bob Stenehjem (Chairman), Dwight Cook, Ben Tollefson, Constance Triplett, Herbert Urlacher
- Representatives Larry Bellew, Wesley R. Belter, David Drovdal, Glen Froseth, Craig Headland, Gil Herbel, Jim Kasper, Scot Kelsh, Mark S. Owens, Arlo Schmidt, Benjamin A. Vig, Dave Weiler, Dwight Wrangham