## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

# **PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE**

Tuesday and Wednesday, October 14-15, 2008 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

### Tuesday, October 14, 2008

1:00 p.m.	Call to order
	Roll call
	Consideration of minutes from the August 26, 2008, meeting

	Consideration of fillinates from the Adgust 25, 2000, meeting
	EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES SYSTEM STUDY
1:05 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to mandatory hospital trauma designation and licensure and availability requirements of quick response units
1:15 p.m.	Comments by representatives of the State Department of Health regarding the proposed bill draft
1:25 p.m.	Comments by representatives of hospitals that are not currently trauma-designated regarding the proposed bill draft
1:45 p.m.	Comments by other interested persons regarding the proposed bill draft
1:55 p.m.	Committee discussion and consideration of the proposed bill draft
2:10 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to expansion of the emergency medical services (EMS) grant program as recommended by the North Dakota EMS Association
2:20 p.m.	Comments by representatives of the North Dakota EMS Association regarding the proposed bill draft
2:30 p.m.	Comments by representatives of the State Department of Health regarding the proposed bill draft
2:40 p.m.	Comments by other interested persons regarding the proposed bill draft
2:50 p.m.	Committee discussion and consideration of the proposed bill draft
3:05 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to the State Department of Health's authority to regulate ambulance services and specialty transportation and the allocation of EMS-related property taxes
3:15 p.m.	Comments by representatives of the State Department of Health regarding the proposed bill draft
3:25 p.m.	Comments by representatives of the North Dakota EMS Association regarding the proposed bill draft
3:35 p.m.	Comments by other interested persons regarding the proposed bill draft
3:45 p.m.	Committee discussion and consideration of the proposed bill draft
4:00 p.m.	Recess

#### Wednesday, October 15, 2008

#### STUDY OF THE DEPARTMENT OF EMERGENCY SERVICES

- 8:30 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff, comments by representatives of the Department of Emergency Services, comments by other interested persons, and committee discussion and consideration of the following bill drafts relating to:
  - Implementation of an emergency response and recovery fund
  - Expansion of the hazardous chemical emergency response preparedness program
  - Mutual aid agreements
  - Special license plates and free car registration for emergency responders
  - Implementation of a retirement payment program for volunteer emergency responders
  - Implementation of a North Dakota Employment Rights Act for volunteer emergency responders
  - Nationally recognized standards for fire, law enforcement, EMS, and public communications dispatchers
  - Minimum certification standards for special operations units
  - An appropriation for the purchase or lease of infrastructure and equipment for eight additional State Radio towers
  - An appropriation relating to the transition of the mobile data system to high-speed broadband access
  - An appropriation for Phase 2 of the computer-aided dispatch project
  - Transformation of the current emergency management model into a regional model
  - A study on the effects of Next Generation 911 on public safety answering points
  - An appropriation for regional training and exercising activities
  - A study on the feasibility of establishing a multidiscipline emergency responder academy for the state
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Continuation of the presentation and discussion of the proposed bill drafts
- 3:30 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives, including a motion to prepare the committee's final report and recommended bill drafts for presentation to the Legislative Council
- 4:00 p.m. Adjourn

#### **Committee Members**

Representatives Todd Porter (Chairman), Randy Boehning, Mike Brandenburg, Ron Carlisle, Edmund Gruchalla, Pam Gulleson, James Kerzman, Joe Kroeber, Bob Martinson, Vonnie Pietsch, Clara Sue Price, Don Vigesaa

Senators Joan Heckaman, Ralph L. Kilzer, Gary A. Lee, Elroy N. Lindaas, John Warner