## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

## **JUDICIAL PROCESS COMMITTEE**

Tuesday, June 24, 2008 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

1:00 p.m.	Call to order Roll call Approval of the April 16, 2008, minutes
1:05 p.m.	CHILD CUSTODY - BEST STATE PRACTICES STUDY  Presentation by Ms. Sherry Mills Moore, State Bar Association of North Dakota, Custody and Visitation Task Force, regarding the findings and recommendations of the task force
1:50 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Sally Holewa, State Court Administrator, regarding the court's family law mediation pilot project
2:10 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Mike Schwindt, Director, Child Support Enforcement Division, Department of Human Services, of information regarding the process for obtaining an accounting of child support payments and information regarding the suspension of a driver's license for the nonpayment of child support
2:40 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft regarding a presumption of joint custody
2:45 p.m.	Testimony from other interested persons regarding the child custody study
3:15 p.m.	Committee discussion
3:25 p.m.	MISSING PERSONS STUDY  Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a revised bill draft regarding a procedure for locating and identifying missing persons
3:30 p.m.	Testimony from interested persons regarding the bill draft and the missing persons study
3:45 p.m.	Committee discussion
3:50 p.m.	<b>EXEMPTIONS FROM JUDICIAL PROCESS STUDY</b> Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a revised bill draft regarding exemptions from bankruptcy and other legal process
3:55 p.m.	Testimony from interested persons regarding the exemptions bill draft
4:15 p.m.	Committee discussion
4:25 p.m.	DRUG USE AND ABUSE REPORT  Distribution and discussion of a report prepared by the Attorney General regarding the unlawful drug use and abuse and drug control and enforcement efforts in this state
4:30 p.m.	Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Representatives Shirley Meyer (Chairman), Chris Griffin, Dennis Johnson, Nancy Johnson, Joyce Kingsbury, Lawrence R. Klemin, Kim Koppelman, William E. Kretschmar, Lee Myxter, Lisa Wolf Senators JoNell A. Bakke, Tom Fiebiger, Curtis Olafson, Constance Triplett