NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Wednesday and Thursday, September 26-27, 2007 Heritage Center Auditorium, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

HIGHER EDUCATION POLICY SUMMIT

Improving Higher Education Efficiency and Effectiveness: Investing in a 21st Century Workforce

Wednesday, September 26, 2007

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes from the August 1, 2007, meeting

9:05 a.m. Welcome and introductions by Representative Ken Svedjan, Chairman, Higher

Education Committee

9:15 a.m. North Dakota's Higher Education Challenges and Opportunities

A discussion regarding the challenges and opportunities ahead for North Dakota in building a strong workforce for the 21st century, including a review of key state demographic and population trends and indicators of North Dakota's higher education performance and information on demands placed on North Dakota's educational system, the investment necessary to improve educational outcomes, and potential return on investments

Speaker: Mr. Dennis Jones

President

National Center for Higher Education Management Systems

10:45 a.m. Break

11:00 a.m. Continuation of the discussion regarding North Dakota's higher education challenges

and opportunities

12:30 p.m. Luncheon recess

1:30 p.m. North Dakota's Workforce Challenges and Opportunities

A discussion on the current and future demand for a skilled workforce in North Dakota, including information on what employers will be seeking in the years to come in terms of preparation and experience, the extent North Dakota's citizens are prepared to contribute to the state's economic prosperity, and obstacles North Dakota may face in realizing its aspirations to assure future economic competitiveness, growth, and prosperity

Speaker: Ms. Dolores Mize

Director of Policy Analysis and Research

Western Interstate Commission on Higher Education

2:45 p.m. Break

3:00 p.m. The Maryland Efficiency and Effectiveness Program

A discussion regarding the implementation and the results of the efficiency and

effectiveness campaign embarked upon by the University System of Maryland

Speaker: Dr. William Kirwan

Chancellor

University System of Maryland

5:00 p.m. Recess

6:30 p.m. Higher Education Committee members and legislative leaders have been invited by the

Midwestern Higher Education Compact to a dinner at the Best Western Doublewood Inn, 1400 East Interchange Avenue, Bismarck, for continued discussion with presenters

regarding higher education policy issues

Thursday, September 27, 2007

8:00 a.m. A Framework for Transformation and Innovation

A presentation on the recent National Conference of State Legislatures Blue Ribbon Commission on Higher Education report *Transforming Higher Education: National Imperative - State Responsibility* relating to the framework for transforming higher education and implementing reform

Speaker: Ms. Julie Bell

Education Program Director

National Conference of State Legislatures

8:45 a.m. **Policy Implications and Strategies**

A discussion to synthesize the information previously presented and to identify the

implications for North Dakota

Speaker: Mr. Larry Isaak

President

Midwestern Higher Education Compact

9:45 a.m. Break

10:00 a.m. Responses, Observations, and Reactions

An open dialogue for participants to reflect upon the previous presentations

Facilitator: Chairman Svedjan

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. **Another Framework for Transformation and Innovation**

A presentation on the recent National Governors Association report A Compact for Postsecondary Education relating to the need to transform higher education in order to

ensure an effective workforce for the 21st century

Speaker: Mr. Christopher Hayter

Program Director for Economic Development

National Governors Association

1:45 p.m. **Setting Priorities for the Future**

A discussion to identify North Dakota's policy priorities for the future, including

appropriate next steps and responsible stakeholders

Facilitator: Mr. Isaak

3:45 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives

4:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Ken Svedjan (Chairman), Lois Delmore, Kathy Hawken, Matthew M. Klein, Bob Martinson, Jasper Schneider, Bob Skarphol, John D. Wall, Clark Williams

Senators Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething, Dave Oehlke, Tracy Potter, Larry J. Robinson