## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

## Tentative Agenda

## **ENERGY DEVELOPMENT AND TRANSMISSION COMMITTEE**

Wednesday, October 24, 2007 Lewis and Clark/Maximilian/Stevens Rooms Energy and Environmental Research Center University of North Dakota Grand Forks, North Dakota

8:30 a.m.	Call to order Roll call
	Consideration of the minutes of the previous meeting
8:35 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Gerald Groenewold, Director, Energy and Environmental Research Center, on an overview of the energy and environmental programs and global, national, and regional perspectives, challenges, and opportunities
9:45 a.m.	Break
10:00 a.m.	Tour of the Energy and Environmental Research Center by Mr. Michael Holmes, Deputy Associate Director for Research, Energy and Environmental Research Center, including a presentation on clean coal and hydrogen
11:30 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Thomas Erickson, Associate Director for Research, Energy and Environmental Research Center, on coal utilization, emissions control, and coal-to-liquid fuels
12:15 p.m.	Luncheon recess
12:45 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. John Harju, Associate Director for Research, Energy and Environmental Research Center, on the Plains $\text{CO}_2$ Reduction Partnership and $\text{CO}_2$ Sequestration
1:30 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Harju on enhanced ${\rm CO_2}$ oil recovery potential and the Bakken Formation
2:15 p.m.	Break
2:30 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Chris Zygarlicke, Deputy Associate Director for Research, Energy and Environmental Research Center, on opportunities and challenges associated with wind energy, biopower, alternative fuels, hydrogen, and other renewable energy forms
3:15 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Darren Schmidt, Research Manager, Energy and Environmental Research Center, on distributed energy, including microturbine applications in the oil field and biomass gasification
4:00 p.m.	Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Senators Rich Wardner (Chairman), John M. Andrist, Robert M. Horne, Ryan M. Taylor, Ben Tollefson, Herbert Urlacher

Representatives Wesley R. Belter, Scot Kelsh, Matthew M. Klein, Shirley Meyer, Todd Porter, Dave Weiler