NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

ENERGY DEVELOPMENT AND TRANSMISSION COMMITTEE

Thursday, April 17, 2008 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Roll call Call to order Consideration of the minutes of the previous meeting
9:10 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Brad Crabtree, Program Director, and Mr. Brendan Jordan, Program Manager, Great Plains Institute, on regional perspectives, including the demonstration of a carbon dioxide scenario model
10:00 a.m.	Break
10:15 a.m.	Continuation of the presentation by representatives of the Great Plains Institute
10:45 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Mark Makelky, Director, North Dakota Pipeline Authority, on current activity regarding pipelines
11:10 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Public Service Commission on recent energy projects and Public Service Commission activities
11:25 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to require energy efficient public buildings
11:35 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
11:45 a.m.	Committee discussion
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Introduction by Mr. Bob Graveline, Utility Shareholders of North Dakota, of a panel discussion on challenges facing the electric utility companies in the nation and in this state
1:05 p.m.	Panel discussion by:
	• Mr. Bill Brier, Vice President, Policy and Public Affairs, Edison Electric Institute, Washington, D.C.
	 Mr. Paul Farrell, Managing Director, Wells Fargo, New York
	 Mr. Dave Goodin, President, Montana-Dakota Utilities Company, Great Plains Natural Gas Company, and Cascade Natural Gas Company, Bismarck
	 Mr. Chuck MacFarlane, President, Otter Tail Power Company, Fergus Falls, Minnesota
	 Mr. Mark Nisbet, Principal Manager, Xcel Energy, Inc., Fargo
2:00 p.m.	Break
2:15 p.m.	Continuation of panel discussion
3:00 p.m.	Comments by interested persons
3:15 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Sandi Tabor, North Dakota Transmission Authority, on externality

3:30 p.m. Committee discussion

3:45 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Rich Wardner (Chairman), John M. Andrist, Robert M. Horne, Ryan M. Taylor, Ben Tollefson, Herbert Urlacher

Representatives Wesley R. Belter, Scot Kelsh, Matthew M. Klein, Shirley Meyer, Todd Porter, Dave Weiler