## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

## **Tentative Agenda**

## **EDUCATION COMMITTEE**

Thursday, September 20, 2007 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.

Call to order

Roll call Comments by the chairman regarding committee studies 9:05 a.m. Review of the Legislative Council supplementary rules of operation and procedure 9:10 a.m. Presentation by the Department of Public Instruction staff regarding the effect of the August 2007 tornado on the provision of education by the Northwood Public School District 9:30 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the adequacy of high school curricula Presentation by Mr. Greg Gallagher, Director, Standards and Achievement, Department 9:40 a.m. of Public Instruction, regarding the development of standards and assessments in North Dakota 10:00 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding regional education associations 10:15 a.m. Break 10:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Tom Decker, Director, School Finance and Organization, Department of Public Instruction, and Mr. Jon Martinson, Executive Director, North Dakota School Boards Association, regarding the development of regional education associations and their future role in the provision of education services 12:00 noon Luncheon recess 1:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding programs to reduce high-risk behaviors that can lead to suicide attempts 1:10 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Mark LoMurray, Director, North Dakota Suicide Prevention Project, regarding efforts to prevent suicide attempts 1:30 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the promotion of healthy lifestyles Presentation by the State Department of Health staff regarding state programs to 1:40 p.m. promote healthy lifestyles Presentation by Ms. Valerie Fischer, Director of School Health, Department of Public 2:15 p.m. Instruction, regarding state programs to promote healthy lifestyles in elementary and secondary schools 2:45 p.m. Break 3:00 p.m. Comments by others Staff directives Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Representatives RaeAnn G. Kelsch (Chairman), C. B. Haas, Lyle Hanson, Gil Herbel, Bob Hunskor, Karen Karls, Lisa Meier, David Monson, Phillip Mueller, Gary Sukut, Francis J. Wald, John D. Wall Senators John M. Andrist, Tim Flakoll, Layton W. Freborg, Gary A. Lee, Carolyn Nelson