NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Thursday, September 4, 2008 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the previous Education Committee meeting

Consideration of the minutes of the previous joint meeting of the Workforce, Education,

and Higher Education Committees

9:05 a.m. Presentation by Drs. Lawrence O. Picus and Allan Odden, Lawrence O. Picus and

Associates, regarding the adequacy of school funding

10:15 a.m. Break

10:30 a.m. Presentation continued

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Renae Hoffmann Walker, Community Relations Director, Bismarck

Public School District, regarding ways in which schools and school districts can train staff members to better identify high-risk students and programs to reduce the

incidences of high-risk behaviors that can lead to suicide

1:45 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Valerie Fischer, Director, Coordinated School Health, Department

of Public Instruction, regarding health education

2:30 p.m. Break

2:45 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Jon Martinson, North Dakota School Boards Association, regarding

regional education associations

3:30 p.m. Receipt of statutorily required reports from the Superintendent of Public Instruction

regarding the financial condition of school districts, school district employee compensation, waivers of accreditation rules, waivers of instructional time requirements, state assessments, electronic course delivery, regional education associations, and

teacher compensation notices filed by school boards

Receipt of a statutorily required report from the Statewide Longitudinal Data System

Committee regarding the state plan for a longitudinal data system

Receipt of a statutorily required report from the Education Standards and Practices

Board regarding payments to individuals who hold national board certification

3:45 p.m. Comments by interested persons

4:15 p.m. Committee discussion

Staff directives

Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives RaeAnn G. Kelsch (Chairman), C. B. Haas, Lyle Hanson, Gil Herbel, Bob Hunskor, Karen Karls, Lisa Meier, David Monson, Phillip Mueller, Gary Sukut, Francis J. Wald, John D. Wall Senators John M. Andrist, Tim Flakoll, Layton W. Freborg, Gary A. Lee, Carolyn Nelson