NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Monday, April 21, 2008 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Approval of the minutes of the previous meeting
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by the Department of Public Instruction staff regarding the distribution of per student payments, contingency payments, and deferred maintenance payments; the determination of special education contract costs; and school district ending fund balances
9:45 a.m.	Presentation by Chairman Kelsch and Mr. Doug Johnson, Executive Director, North Dakota Council of Educational Leaders, regarding the draft report entitled Funding Schools Adequately in North Dakota: Resources to Double Student Performance
10:15 a.m.	Break
10:30 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Janet Welk, Executive Director, Education Standards and Practices Board, regarding teacher qualifications and professional development requirements
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Paul Johnson, Superintendent, Bismarck Public School District, regarding educational adequacy and its impact on school districts
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Val Fischer, Director of School Health, Department of Public Instruction, regarding health education in the state
	Presentation by Ms. Barb Bjorum, teacher, Valley City Public School District, regarding challenges in providing health education
	Presentation by Mr. Perry Lauer, Bismarck Police Department School Resource Officer, regarding the public consequences of risk behaviors by students
	Presentation by Mr. Mark Winkelman, Winkelman Consulting, regarding the impact of health education on risk behaviors
3:00 p.m.	Break
3:15 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Fischer regarding the purchase and distribution to school districts of automated external defibrillators
3:20 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Scott Halvorson, Director, Adult Learning Center, Bismarck Public School District, regarding federal and state funding for adult learning centers
3:40 p.m.	Comments by interested persons
	Staff directives
4:00 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives RaeAnn G. Kelsch (Chairman), C. B. Haas, Lyle Hanson, Gil Herbel, Bob Hunskor, Karen Karls, Lisa Meier, David Monson, Phillip Mueller, Gary Sukut, Francis J. Wald, John D. Wall Senators John M. Andrist, Tim Flakoll, Layton W. Freborg, Gary A. Lee, Carolyn Nelson